Pizza Stone Love…

Hullo

How’s your Tuesday going? Mine is going really well. 😀 I started my morning with a nice long puppy stroll followed by some much needed yoga. It’s been awhile since I’ve done yoga and it felt oh so good to return to the stretching bliss. 🙂 I’m happy to report that my wrist is feeling much much better and so I’m feeling really good about being able to do yoga more routinely. Yeah!

My leg muscle is also much much better, not fully healed, but much much better. Being on the mend is a great feeling. Today’s session of yoga, made me feel strong again. I love how yoga can make you feel good about your body while at the same time giving you a bliss that lasts throughout the day.

Today I have several things I plan to make in the kitchen, I’ll tell you how it all went tomorrow. 😉

But for now, I wanted to talk about my new pizza stone. I bought it a couple of weekends ago and have had the opportunity to use it twice. ♥ I’m in love! ♥

I was really drawn the the fact that this pizza stone is covered in an enamel-like glaze, mostly because I always hated how I never really felt like my usual pizza stone was clean. I knew it was clean because I washed it, but it always looked dirty and stained.

This beauty is easy to clean, in fact, you can put it in the dishwasher (although I don’t plan to) and apparently, you can even cut the pizza right on the stone (I don’t plan to do this either). It’s a bit pricey but considering how lightweight and easy to clean it is, I think it is a great investment! You can also use the pizza stone right on the grill… how awesome is that?

[source]

My first opportunity to use the pizza stone was to make this delightfully yummy focaccia. I know it seems like a strange combination garlic, onions, and grapes… but trust me it works. The savory with the touch of sweet is out of this world!

I made olive oil dough from ABin5 (this time I made a 1/2 batch and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and the rest AP flour), but you can use any pizza dough of your choosing. Then I lightly rubbed some olive oil over the top, sprinkled it with salt, pepper, oregano, basil, garlic powder, and onion bits (all dried spices). Then I cut red seedless grapes in half and placed them about the pizza…

Baked it in a 450°F oven for 10-15 min until the dough was golden. Perfection! To accompany my lovely focaccia, I made pasta drizzled with olive oil; sprinkled with salt, pepper, and some nutritional yeast; and topped with fresh basil and toasted pine nuts. I also had some broccoli with a dollop of soy garden. 🙂

I know this post is short and sweet, but I have a ton of food to make today and need to get started.

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Pizza Stone Love…

  1. That’s too funny. My sister was asking me what I would like for my birthday and Christmas earlier today and I was thinking of telling her either a pizza stone or mandolin. Yours looks beautiful and I agree with you on the feeling like it’s dirty with the wood products. I know I’ve cleaned it over and over again but some of the stains just stay with it. Very cool that you can cook on the grill though, I can’t wait to see more creations!

    • simplyshaka – This pizza stone is definitely a superior stone… I used the heck out of my $12 one from target… but like I said it always seemed dirty. This one is like cleaning a plate… you know it’s clean. I love that it’s light weight too!

      Hope you get one for the holidays 🙂

Leave a Reply

