Halloween Cupcakes – How-to…

I’ve been seeing great cupcake decorations online the past few Halloweens and decided that this year I’d join in the fun. 😀

I had a great time thinking up the flavors for each of the designs and am proud that my cupcakes have flavor, as opposed to just tasting like a cake full of sugar.

I was inspired by this…
[source]

and this…
[source]

Here are mine…

Cherry Vampire Bites

Lemon Swamp Thing

Chocolate Spiderwebs

I’ll admit that I could use a bit more practice in the decorating category… but the flavor… OMG! These were perfect. 😀 And best of all, vegan.

So how did I do it?

With the help of a few of my favorite cookbooks… Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World, Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, and some good old fashion creativity. 😀

The how-tos will be as if you are only making the one flavor… in actuality I made all three on the same day. I made the cupcakes (cherry, lemon, then chocolate), the fillings (cherry, then lemon), then the frosting. It took pretty much the whole day. I think I started somewhere around 11 am and was finished probably around 4:30 pm. Fun, but time consuming.

Here’s the short version:
Cherry Vampire Bites (link takes you to how-to):

  • Golden Vanilla Cupcakes (p.33) with almond extract
  • Nic’s Homemade Fruit Syrup w/ agar for thickening
  • Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (p.142) 1/3 batch

Lemon Swamp Thing (link takes you to how-to):

  • Golden Vanilla Cupcakes (p.33) with lemon zest
  • Lemon Bar Filling (p.141) with green food coloring, 1/2 batch
  • Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (p.142) with green food coloring, 1/3 batch

Chocolate Spiderwebs (link takes you to how-to):

  • Your Basic Chocolate Cupcake (p.37)
  • Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (p.142) 1/3 batch
  • Store-bought black frosting gel


– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Cherry Vampire Bites

I followed the recipe for Golden Vanilla Cupcakes (p.33, recipe on web) and added 1/4 tsp. almond extract.

I used a ice cream scoop to fill my cupcake tin…

They baked up perfectly…

Next I made the cherry filling…

  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup frozen cherries
  • 1 Tbsp. agar agar
  1. Heat the maple syrup, agar, and frozen cherries in a sauce pan until the cherries are thawed.
  2. Blend together until smooth. I used an immersion blender…

  3. Return blended syrup to sauce pan, bring to a boil. Simmer 5 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat. Transfer to another container, cover with saran, and place in refrigerator to set.
  5. Once set, blend again to make it smooth…
  6. Place smooth cherry filling into a pastry bag with a pointed tip…
  7. Once cupcakes are cooled, fill with cherry filling like you would a jelly-donut… place pointed pastry bag into center of cupcake and gently squeeze. You will notice that the cupcake starts to swell ever so slightly… stop squeezing and remove point. Continue process for the rest of the cupcakes…

Now make the frosting… Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (p.142, recipe on web), you will only need about 1/3 batch (make a whole batch and then make 3 dozen cupcakes 😉 )

Frost the cupcakes with fluffy buttercream frosting.

To make the vampire bites, I added about 4 tsp water to the leftover cherry filling and heated it in the micro for about 10 sec., mixed it up and then put it in a pastry bag with a pointed tip. It was still a bit too thick and didn’t quite work as planned… but I basically tried to make the cupcakes look like they had been bitten with fangs and then slightly bled from those bite marks…


– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Lemon Swamp Thing

I followed the recipe for Golden Vanilla Cupcakes (p.33, recipe on web) and added 1 tsp. lemon zest, and 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract.

They baked up perfectly…

Next I made the lemon filling…

I made 1/2 a batch of Lemon Bar Filling (p.141, recipe on web) replacing the turmeric with 4 drops of green food coloring (which I added at the beginning, in the water).

I let the filling cool in the refrigerator, then I blended it with an immersion blender to make smooth…

Then I filled the cupcakes like they were jelly-donuts (see explanation in cherry vampire bite section)…

To 1/3 batch of Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (p.142, recipe on web), I added a few drops of green food coloring. Then frosted the cupcakes…


– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Chocolate Spiderwebs

These were the easiest to make, but oddly the hardest to decorate.

I made Your Basic Chocolate Cupcake (p.37, recipe on web).

They baked up perfectly…

Frosted them with 1/3 batch of Vegan Fluffy Buttercream Frosting (p.142, recipe on web).

Now to decorate…

I used a store-bought black frosting gel. First make a blob in the middle of the cupcake, then two circles around that blob. Take a toothpick and draw a line from the blob to the outer edge in a spoke-like fashion, about 8 times…

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Halloween Cupcakes – How-to…

  1. Pingback: Halloween Weekend Wrap-up… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Vegan MoFo: Survey… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: I’m A Soda Jerk… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

