International Day of Non-Violence…

gandhi

“Be the change you want to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Today is International Day of Non-Violence, it is also Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday.

I thought we’d celebrate by having Indian food that was also vegan, not a mutually exclusive thing. A celebration of a great man and non-violence.

I don’t cook Indian food that often, other than the occasional curry stir-fry, so I relied on frozen foods like Amy’s and Tandoor Chef to help me out.

As I was shopping for Indian cuisine, I realized that naan, at least the brands offered at that particular store, were not vegan, so I got pita bread instead (fully aware that it was not an Indian bread).

My vegan selection…

Vegetable Korma…

Mattar Tofu…

Kofta Curry…

The Kofta Curry was HOT… so hot, in fact, that it took away from the flavor. We liked the Amy’s dinners best… I personally liked the Vegetable Korma most. 🙂

I served it with green tea… it was a delicious meal… and one that only took 16 minutes to prepare, can’t beat that! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “International Day of Non-Violence…

  1. I didn’t know that about the 2nd however that is one of my top three favorite quotes so thanks for sharing, it made me smile 🙂

    I wish I could get on the curry train but the smell really bothers me but I’ve heard curry is like salsa with the different smells/colors/level of intensity. Is that true?

    • simplyshaka – As far as I know, yes, there are different colors/ smells/ and heat levels of curry. When I was looking at the menu of Spices Thai the other day (Friday Night Bites) they had a red curry and a coconut curry. I’ve seen green curry in jars at the grocery too. I’m partial to coconut curries, it’s a sweet/hot flavor mingled with ginger and garlic. I really like it. But I’m not educated enough in curry to be able to really know what I’m about to get unless there is a description first. When I was in DC, I loved Thaiphoon’s Pa-Ram Jae, it was a yellow curry with a hint of coconut, spicy but not too spicy and a little bit sweet. That’s the curry I try to emulate when I cook.

      The curry stirfry that I make has coconut milk, tomato paste, garlic and then a curry powder. I read the ingredients of the curry powder and each company has a slightly different one. Who knows, you might like a different brand. 😉

Leave a Reply

