German Apple Cake…

Before we get to the cake, I have an update for the Autumn Inspired Salads

    I would still prefer to add more lettuce, like double… or half the toppings. All those toppings start to get a bit overwhelming. Today, being day two of the salad, I’d also like to say that two days should be the maximum time the salads should be stored in-tact. The lettuce was starting to get a bit wilted and the apples were starting to taste a bit fermented. I think that if the components were stored separately, it might last a day or two longer. ๐Ÿ™‚ But still a great salad.

Ok, back to the cake!

Oktoberfest is currently being celebrated in Munich (Sept 18 – Oct. 4, 2010), I had a German food themed-week last week, but I still had one more item I wanted to make… German Apple Cake.

I was going to continue the idea of themed-weeks, but honestly it’s a lot of work… anyway, while getting ideas for a ‘breakfast for dinner week’ I came across the German Apple Cake and felt it was a great segue… of course, it’s not really a segue if it happens after the next idea is introduced, which is then interrupted by another idea, then the segue is introduced… but whatever, semantics…

So yeah, we had one of my favorite breakfasts, cream of wheat, second only to waffles, on Monday night… yum…

Then on Tuesday, I made the Autumn Inspired Salad, which led to us having bbq for dinner instead of breakfast…

Finally, on Wednesday, I made the cake… I’d be lying if I told you it lasted to the next day… uh, yeah, we ate.it.all. I’m not proud that I had nearly half a cake for dinner, but I assure you, you’d be hard pressed to do otherwise. ๐Ÿ˜€ My rationalization, if I really need one, is that uh… oh, ok… the apples… yeah, the apples may have prevented it from keeping well. Yeah, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it ๐Ÿ˜‰

I made this glorious cake from a wonderful cookbook called, The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau. Every recipe I’ve tried from this book has been fantastic! And I’ve tried a few, like… my first attempt at vegan waffles [p.69] (awesome) which was before I started the blog, and then my second attempt at vegan waffles [p.70] (also awesome), and blueberry cobbler [p.136] (awesome), which I made twice but slightly different (wow, awesome)… and those are just the ones I’ve blogged about. ๐Ÿ™‚

This book, along with Isa Moskowitz’s books, helped me to solidify my desire to transition from vegetarian to vegan by assuring me that I wouldn’t miss my favorite baked goods. These wonderful chefs have taught me so many techniques to make and enjoy baked goods without dairy and eggs. This apple cake is just one more notch on my vegan baking post. ๐Ÿ™‚

I followed the directions exactly as they are printed in the cookbook (p.76), so I won’t reprint it here. The only thing I changed was a slight mistake in my reading of the ingredients… I didn’t have ground ginger, so I used just a bit of fresh grated.

The recipe doesn’t specify what kind of apples to use, instead it directs you to a page that explains which apples are good for different types of uses. I like to use a combination of granny smith and golden delicious in my pies, so I decided to do that here as well. The recipe calls for 3 apples, I used two of each and then ate the leftover apples while the cake baked. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Next time, I think I’ll just use all granny smith…

Baked for 40 minutes and cooling for 15 minutes…

Cooled and ready to eat…

Tonight, I’m thinking of making gingerbread waffles… I’ve blogged about them before. They were awesome!

Usually by now I have an idea of what I’m going to do for Friday Night Bites… I think I used up quite a bit of creativity in the last week or so and I’m at a loss for tomorrow. Hmmm…. well if I come up with something, I’ll be sure to blog about it… but I’m not going to stress over it. As much as I like the idea of Friday Night Bites, I’m also a creature of chaos and the queen of random… so your guess is as good as mine as to whether I’m gonna have one this week. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “German Apple Cake…

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Comfort « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

