Chocolate!!!…

Woohoo! Chocolate!!!

Seriously, not enough posts start out like that πŸ˜‰

Saturday, Chuao Chocolatier was celebrating ‘8 Sweet Years’ by giving away a free scoop of their gelato. And their bonbons were on sale too!

Unfortunately, gelato isn’t vegan. I had a discussion with my taste-tester… did I really have a mild lactose intolerance or was it just the stress from the move? He says, if a free scoop means a free punch in the stomach, do you still want it? Uh, no… (the milkshake I had on the trip made my stomach hurt, in case you missed that post)

Well, the bonbons were on sale… so when I went to Chuao, I planed to just get two of each of the vegan bonbons…

After 10 luscious bonbons were all bagged up for me, the person helping me asked if I’d gotten my free scoop yet. I said no, it’s not vegan. 😦 Then she tells me that there are two flavors of sorbet (one with passion fruit, the other strawberry with vegan chocolate chips)… she didn’t know how strict I was, but they may have egg albumin in them. Caught up in all the excitement from the other patrons, I decided to compromise, plus I didn’t know what egg albumin was, I asked for the strawberry with chocolate chips…

Wow! I knew my taste-tester would love this ‘ice cream’ so I rushed home with the a/c on so that it wouldn’t melt. Mmmm, it was very similar to an ice cream we used to get with black cherry and chocolate chips, but more intense. πŸ™‚

I just looked up egg albumin… oh… it’s egg whites. Don’t know if I’ll get it again, just because I’d like to stick to my vegan beliefs, but it was probably one of those gotta try it just once kind of things. πŸ™‚

As for the bonbons…

There are five vegan flavors, I’ve blogged about these before, but hadn’t had the chance to taste any of them…



I liked the candela (macadamia nut praline spiced with smoky chipotle) best… it was the second to last one I tried… I kept calling it “the yellow one”… and after tasting it and stating that I liked the spiciness of it, my taste-tester says, you mean the one with the flames? πŸ˜€ Oh… that’s what that design is… flames…


My second favorite… mendiant (dark chocolate topped with dried fruit and nuts)… had just a touch of salt that I really liked…


Third favorite… framboise (raspberry β€œpate de fruit” layered over almond hazelnut praline)… the raspberry reminded me of raspberry jelly donuts… mmmmm that brings back memories of my childhood…


Next up… grignottine (roasted and caramelized almond slivers with pistachios and orange peel)… this one I actually tasted first… it was lovely… how can you go wrong with chocolate and nuts?…


And last (there has to be a last)… mulato (almond marzipan topped with a roasted macadamia nut)… the other bonbons had so much character that this one was overshadowed… good, but I liked the other ones better…


All this chocolate makes me want to watch Chocolat again! The Chuao flavors I like the best are the ones with a bit of spice… the Spicy Maya Chocolate Bar and the Chipotle Spiced Bonbon (candela). Just makes my mouth water thinking about them!

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Chocolate!!!…

  1. Glad to see you got some chocolate. The passion fruit sorbet was awesome as well, and we were able to share it with the four legged family member. πŸ™‚ Did you know, you can actually buy Chuao chocolate bars and such at Whole Foods.

    • a -neighbor – Yeah, I’ve seen Chuao at WF and my taste-tester has seen it at Ralph’s πŸ™‚

      With the member card though, it’s still cheaper to go to the source, by just a smidge. πŸ™‚ Although, if you take gasoline into account… or if you just have to have chocolate right now! πŸ˜‰

      I meant to ask you last time I saw you, how your visit to Chuao went. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

