Oktoberfest…

In my taste-tester’s youth, he lived in Kaiserslautern, Germany. He lived there 4 1/2 years. This time of year, I try to bring back some of those memories by creating our own version of Oktoberfest. Obviously since we do not partake in alcohol, meat, cheese, or eggs this is a bit of a challenge. Also, I’ve never been to Germany. But that doesn’t stop me from trying. 😉

It’s an interesting time of the year, it happens to be full of my taste-tester’s favorite things… Autumn, Talk Like a Pirate Day, Halloween, and Oktoberfest… these are fun times! 😀 Incidentally, Talk Like a Pirate Day was this past Sunday… ARR! ya scurvy dog!… I was busy hanging out with my taste-tester and little-bit, so I ended up not posting that day. But I did post about it last year.

For my vegan Oktoberfest, I have a few things in mind. The things my taste-tester most looks forward to is sauerkraut, red cabbage, and fried potatoes. Check, check and check, I now have the items to make that happen. I also looked on the web today for some more ideas, I have a few… but as per usual, I may change my mind midway through… luckily the produce I bought can be made into pretty much any cuisine, so if we get burned out on kraut, no problems…

I had to get some more mustard varieties, yellow mustard just won’t cut it. And I bought rye flour and molasses so that I could make some homemade pumpernickel. I’ve made this pumpernickel many times before, and I really like it. I omit the coffee and chocolate. I currently don’t have caramel color and I couldn’t find caraway seeds (which sometimes I omit)… but I think it will still make an interesting and good couple of loaves of bread for our little Oktoberfest. The tempeh and baked tofu are going to be used in some of the ideas I have… I plan to post about those experiments later this week as they happen…

Tonight, I’m going with a bit of an easy dinner… I have wheat bread dough in the fridge (HBin5, p.54), so I’m going to use that up before I make the pumpernickel dough. Tonight’s dinner is going to be veggie burgers w/ homemade buns. The topping for the burgers will be mustard and sauerkraut, on the side will be red cabbage and fresh green beans. I have bigger ideas for the rest of the week, but I’ve been pretty busy today and just want to take it easy.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot… we’ll be having beer with these burgers… root beer that is. 😉

Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Oktoberfest…

  1. Pingback: Friday Night Bites… Oktoberfest Edition… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Oktoberfest… Part 4… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: German Apple Cake… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

