Dog Surfing…

Yep you read that correctly…

Dogs that surf.

Not mine… we’re still trying to convince him that the water is not trying to get him. 😛

On Sunday, we arrived near the ending of a dog surf competition… it was the XL dog heat… there were people and dogs everywhere… it took me probably 20 minutes to find a parking place! But we finally found one, and then the long trek to the beach… not really, but little-bit thought it was years away! It took us probably another 30 minutes to meander to the beach… (about a half mile)…

But once there! Woohoo!

Ok, not really, little-bit was a bit tired by then. But he was happy to see all kinds of dogs, and of course he got all kinds of human attention, he’s very handsome, you know. 😉 I teased my taste-tester that if he was single, little-bit would be a chick magnet… the number of girls who ooohhhed and aaawwweed my little-bit was impressive. 😀

Let’s get to the pictures, shall we?

I didn’t take my SLR, didn’t want to drop it in the water or something. So I had my point and shoot…

My little-bit, of course… (don’t forget the key to great pictures is treats!)…

without treat…

with treats…

Now for some dogs surfing…

This one looks like (s)he’s not sure…

This one on the other hand looks like (s)he had a great time… see expression in picture after next…

This one refused to get off the surf board once on land…

This cutie was a show off… check it out, backwards…

We didn’t stay long and had to trek that half mile back to the car after all the excitement… it took awhile. We all had fun though. We all ended up taking a nap when we got home though. heh. Social butterflies, we are not. I’m glad we got out of our comfort zone though… it was neat to see. 😀

Until next time…
~nic

8 thoughts on “Dog Surfing…

    • a – neighbor – I’d have to agree… most of the dogs looked like they weren’t really sure about being on that surf board… with the exception of the second dog pictured… now that one, I think it was having fun. 😀

      You said you saw Tillman… did he surf? Did he look like he enjoyed it? On the dog treat bag, it looks like he enjoys skateboarding. 😀

      Oh, after seeing that video I linked to on his name… yeah, he looks like he enjoys it! 😛

  1. This is the happiest post I’ve read all day! Ok well maybe not the happiest but post that made me the happiest if that makes sense 🙂

    I absolutely love the pics……including the polka dot gear the dog who didn’t want to get off the board was wearing.

    Lil Bit needs to get to training—he can do it, I have confidence in him!!

    • simplyshaka – haha! Little-bit thinks I’m a big meanie when I take him close to the water, the waves come in, I jump out of the way, he gets drenched and then I proceed to laugh so hard I can’t talk! But hey, you gotta start somewhere, right? 😀

Leave a Reply

