Inspiration Abound…

Ok, here’s the part where you think I’ve truly lost my mind… but I assure you, as odd as it sounds, it was a great dinner (and lunch today)!

Back story time…Diddly-doot! Diddly-doot! Diddly-doot!

    The other week when I was experimenting with beans and creating strange concoctions with pineapple, yeah this post, my taste-tester and I were having a discussion of weird concepts for food. He said something along the lines of, you should make something like spaghetti served in naan, or shepherd’s pie burritos!

    Is this guy into wraps or what? 😉

    I was thinking, those really aren’t that weird… the bread that you would have on the side is now wrapped around the food and the bread itself is from another cuisine… but kind of a cool idea…

Diddly-doot! Diddly-doot! Diddly-doot!

So I last night I made shepherd’s pie burritos! 😀

I actually bought the ingredients a few days back, but didn’t have time until yesterday. I’m kinda glad that I waited, because I also came across Angela’s post where she combined beans with her garlicky mashed potatoes. As I was reading the post, I was thinking, “hey, I’m making garlicky mashed potatoes with veggies today…”

I needed to run to the store for some other connector items so I went ahead and bought a can of beans too. Oddly, the store did not carry navy beans, whaaa? Don’t ask me. *shrug* Anyway, I settled for chickpea (Angela used navy) figuring that they would blend well since they are a key component of hummus and because they don’t have a strong flavor so they would blend well with my dinner. For the record, chickpea turned out great.

Now you might be wondering the same thing I was, doesn’t shepherd’s pie have black-eyed peas in it? I thought so, too. I know I’ve made it that way before and with Worcestershire sauce… the recipe I used last night required neither. Which is fine by me… black-eyed peas are not my favorite bean… and the bottle of vegetarian Worcestershire sauce I bought a few years back sat in the back of my pantry unused… probably only used the last time I made shepherd’s pie. 😛 So I’m glad not to have to buy an ingredient that I don’t usually use.

Get to the food already!

Ok, Ok! sheesh!

Here’s my adaptation of Mollie Katzen’s Shepherd’s Pie (from The New Enchanted Broccoli Forest) that I veganized and then I adapted further by using Angela’s protein garlic mashed potatoes as inspiration…

* You can click on the pictures to make them bigger…

Shepherd’s Pie Burritos
Adapted from Mollie Katzen’s Shepherd’s Pie (from The New Enchanted Broccoli Forest) with additional inspiration from Angela’s protein garlic mashed potatoes
Yields: 8 burritos

you will need

    pot with a lid that will hold the potatoes
    (I used a 1 qt, but a 2 qt would have been easier)
    large skillet or dutch oven
    food processor
    large mixing bowl
    9 x 13-inch baking pan

Mashed Potato Topping

(Make this first):

    3 medium potatoes, cubed, skin on (I used Yukon gold)
    1 Tbsp. soy garden
    1/4 – 1/2 cup soy milk
    1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    Salt and pepper to taste
    1/2 cup minced fresh parsley

Vegetable Hash

    1 Tbsp. olive oil
    1 onion, chopped
    4 cloves garlic, minced
    Salt and pepper to taste
    1 stalk celery, chopped
    10 baby carrots, sliced (or about 2 carrots)
    1 medium red bell pepper, chopped
    1 pound mushrooms, sliced
    2 teaspoons dried basil
    1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
    1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
    1 cup peas, frozen
    1/4 cup fine bread crumbs
    3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
    2 dashes of cayenne, to taste
    2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast (optional)
    paprika for the top

For burritos

    8 flour tortillas, wheat

* I made the mashed potatoes much like I always do by using the cooking water to help make them creamy, use less fat, and to keep the nutrition that is boiled into the water in my potatoes rather than down the drain.

  1. Place cubed potatoes (skin on) into a pot with just enough water to come almost to the top of the potatoes, but not cover them. You want enough water to cook in, you will stir occasionally, but not so much that you feel compelled to pour the water out once you start mashing (see photo). Bring to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer. Cook potatoes until tender, 25-30 minutes. I put the pot on the stove, lid tilted, and then stirred occasionally while making the vegetable hash.
  2. Then I mostly followed Mollie’s directions… Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  3. Heat the oil in a large, deep skillet (or dutch oven). Add the onion and sauté over medium heat for about 5 minutes, or until it begins to soften.
  4. Add garlic, salt, pepper, celery, mushrooms, carrots, and bell pepper. Stir until well combined, cover, and cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the herbs, stir, and cover again. Cook for about 5 more minutes, or until the veggies are crisp-tender. Remove from heat.
    — Sorry I guess I didn’t take any pictures during this part. —
  5. Meanwhile, check on the potatoes. If they are soft, then take off heat.
  6. In the food processor combine chickpeas, garlic, and pepper… add a bit of the potato-water to help blend to a creamy but slightly chunky consistency, set aside.
  7. Transfer potatoes and cooking water to the large bowl, mash… add soy garden and soy milk, blend well. Add bean mixture and parsley, stir to combine. Check seasonings.

  8. Returning to the vegetable hash… Stir in the peas, the bread crumbs, and the vinegar. Add cayenne to taste.
  9. I didn’t have bread crumbs, so I finely chopped a slice of bread.
  10. I’m always saying taste throughout the preparation of the meal… this is how I decided if I wanted to add nutritional yeast… I put the parts together and tasted it. 🙂
  11. Spread this mixture into the prepared casserole or baking pan. Sprinkle nutritional yeast over vegetable mixture, if using.
  12. Spoon and/or spread the mashed potatoes over the vegetables, scrape with fork to make more areas to get crusty, then dust with paprika.

  13. Bake uncovered for 25 to 30 minutes, or until lightly browned on top and bubbly around the edges.
  14. Serve by spooning shepherd’s pie into a flour tortilla. Enjoy!

So, I might be a bit weird, but it’s good food, you gotta admit! 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

