Cleanup Night…

I am notorious for getting an idea at the grocery store only to change my mind later. Then I am left with random bits of produce that I have to figure out how to use up. They don’t call me the queen of random and a creature of chaos for nothing! πŸ˜‰

In true random chaos fashion, this post is going to be a cleanup of sorts… in fact, this post is going to be three posts wrapped up in one.

  1. Cleanup Night…
  2. Feed Me Seymour…
  3. Lessons Learned…

Intrigued? Keep reading! πŸ˜€

Cleanup Night…

I had some random produce and a hankering for something with tomato sauce. Enter… minestrone. No, really. Minestrone is a great way to use up produce and a great soup to boot! I’m not going to write out the process of making this soup because the majority of my soups are minestrone-inspired… check out these gems for cooking directions (minestrone 1, minestrone 2, minestrone 3). πŸ™‚ (Previous cleanup nights… pasta, pie)

The produce I had on hand this time: red bell pepper, carrots, celery, parsley, and kale…

Not an intense list, mind you, but hey, you gotta start somewhere. I ran out to the store to pick up a few items to pull it all together: onion, garlic, zucchini, and cannellini beans. I love it when it doesn’t take much to put something new together. πŸ˜€

With the addition of some pantry items: bay leaf; oregano, dried; basil, dried; better than bouillon vegetable broth (refrigerator), salt and pepper, 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes, 15 oz can diced tomatoes in Italian seasonings, and 1 cup fusilli, whole wheat (noodles broken in half)… it came together quite nicely.

I had it going most of the day, because it is my firm belief that the longer you simmer canned tomatoes the better they taste (the tin taste disappears). So I had it on a low simmer and occasionally added ingredients while I worked on other things around the house, which I’ll get to in a second…

Viola! Minestrone…

Feed Me Seymour…

The avocado seeds are growing quite nicely… I felt it was time to get those guys potted. I searched the web and found out that they like to be put into something called sandy loam… so I asked one of the employees at home depot’s nursery, and she told me that a cactus potting soil would do the job I required. Here’s the process in pictures, enjoy…

Specimen A:

Specimen B:

Two happy plants guarded by “corndog”…

Lessons Learned…

I went to Ikea over the weekend, yes, labor day weekend… twice. Two different locations. Apparently I like pain. πŸ˜› Not really, it wasn’t too bad. I went on Friday and then again on Monday, in theory, some people were at work during those times.

The lesson I learned?

Just because the website says that Ikea has something in stock doesn’t mean it’s true. 😦 We drove an hour to another Ikea because it was one of the few in the state that claimed to have an item that I’ve been wanting (the local Ikea told me they couldn’t order it for me special)… the website claimed they had two. So we made a family trip of it (my taste-tester waited out in the car with Little-bit). When I got through the store to the self-serve furniture area (thanks to the website, I knew the aisle and bin numbers) there were none to be had. As I was standing there double checking all the boxes near the area where my item was supposed to be, an employee asked if he could help. When I told him I had driven an hour to get here because the website said they had some, he says, “Oh, never drive all that way for two! Don’t even drive that far for ten! Call first.” Uh, ok. 😐

Sadly, if you check out the website, nearly every Ikea has none or one… so I guess that means none of them have the item I want. 😦 My taste-tester suspects that the database is delayed on the website, because another item I decided to pick up while I was there had about 18 in stock even though the website claimed only 8. Oh, well, I guess I’ll just have to keep checking the website, and next time call first.

For my efforts, on our way home from Ikea, I rewarded us with pizza. Vegan pizza, that is… from Whole Foods Deli…


Yum!

That was pretty much my day… shopping, cooking, planting, and building… blogging, eating… sleeping? Yeah, sleeping… good night!

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Cleanup Night…

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Cheesecake… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Cleanup Night… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

