New Twist on an Old Favorite…

I’ve made one of my favorite snacks recently with a new twist…

Remember these?…

Averie’s Vegan No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Protein Bars - Awesome

Averie’s Vegan No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Protein Bars v.2.0 - Awesome

Averie’s Vegan No-Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Protein Bars v.3.0 - Awesome


For version 3.0, I found out that I could use a gallon-size zip-top bag and so I employed that method again this time for version 4.0…

The twist for version 4, you ask… blueberry muesli…

I found this mix at Trader Joes the other day and as soon as I saw it, I thought oat bars! As you know, I tend to cook by sight and taste, so the amounts I used would be guesses, for the original recipe go see Averie’s Oat Bars… I love how this recipe is pretty much anything goes. After making it Averie’s method for version 1.0, I’ve been using her recipe as a guide to remember what all goes in the ‘goo’ but then I tweak it up according to what I have on hand and what I’m craving…

For version 4, I didn’t use protein powder, but I did have flax seed and hemp seed on hand, so I used those… I did not grind my flax seed this time. The flax seed I used (golden roasted) added a nice roasted quality that I really liked. *Since I did not measure anything, I felt it was just a tad bit too dry, rather than adding more maple syrup (more sugar) or water (no added flavor), I decided to add a little travel cup of apple sauce. It was the perfect amount of wetness that this mix needed, and the end product was delicious…

The ‘goo’:

    banana
    peanut butter (crunchy)
    coconut butter
    maple syrup
    vanilla
    cinnamon
    *apple sauce

The dry goods:

    blueberry muesli
    shredded coconut (mine was sweetened, so I used less maple syrup)
    chocolate chips
    almonds
    flax seeds (golden roasted)
    hemp seeds

I loved that the dried fruit was included in the blueberry muesli… plus it was blueberries!…

My method…
Take banana, place in gallon-size zip-top bag…

Mash banana…

In a mixing bowl add rest of ‘goo’ ingredients, or if like me you’re using up the last of the peanut butter, place ingredients in peanut butter jar. I like to take the chill off the peanut butter (because I use natural peanut butter that is stored in the refrigerator) and to melt the coconut butter just a tad… I put it in the microwave for about 20 seconds… just enough to loosen up the ingredients and make them easier to mix…

Add goo to banana in bag, mix…

Take dry ingredients and add them to zip-top bag…

Squish around and distribute the goo as evenly as possible, also making sure the dry ingredients are well distributed…

My mixture seemed a bit crumbly, so I decided to add some more liquid to the mix… applesauce was my liquid of choice…

Ah, much better… flatten out mixture, and place in the freezer for several hours…

Several hours later, remove from freezer. I pushed on the package a couple of times throughout the day until I felt it was solid enough to cut…

Cut away zip-top bag… and place on cutting board…

Cut into bars, I tend to get 10 bars…

Then I place each bar into a snack-size zip-top bag and put back in the freezer. I then can snack on the bars whenever I choose. The don’t need to be frozen, I just like them cold… I will put one in my taste-tester’s lunch. Speaking of my taste-tester. As soon as these were cut, he snagged one… this mix is taste-tester approved! 😉

Thanks again Averie, for this awesome idea… I’ve been able to run away with it while still keeping to your idea… Thanks!

Awesome…

Oh… I have news… remember my experiment with sprouting the avocado seeds? Well, specimen A has started to grow a stem and I need to get it potted real soon!

Specimen A:

Meanwhile, specimen B has started to grow a third root!

Specimen B:

And in other photography news… I’ve captured a few new photos to share…

Sunset…

Little-bit…

Turns out that this cute little fuzzy leafy plant…

…will flower!…

This guy was not easy to capture… he was swinging in the wind on a thin web-like line… anyone know what he/she is?…

These photos are kinda old… but sometimes we get up to some interesting leftover creations… this one we’ve dubbed ‘bachelor chow’… leftover wild rice, frozen corn, salsa, and vegetable lentil soup served with chips both hot and not. 😛 It was really good and filling…

Well that about wraps it up…

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “New Twist on an Old Favorite…

  1. I dont even “love” lentils or even soups but that one you just made has me wishing you could cook for me!

    anyway, the bars and the baggie..omg such a smart thinker you are!! way to get creative and save a step! I mix in 1 bowl, line the 9×13 pan or whatever size i use, put it all in, then flip onto cutting board and cut and you just shaved off half the steps..LOVE it!!!

    Have a super week! And it went from lovely to brrrr, chilly here today! hope we get some more of those 75 and sunny days, asap!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

