Homestyle Refried Beans…

Quick side track, I’ve updated my Recipe page… it was about a month and a half behind… sorry about that. I’ve been trying to make sure I keep it up to date, but I don’t always remember my own rules of 1. hit publish 2. update history pg 3. update recipe pg. Oh well, I try… anyway it’s up to date now, so go give it a looksee. ๐Ÿ™‚

Back to the regularly scheduled post…

Refried beans…

Recently I purchased some new cookbooks… a girl can never have too many cookbooks…

I was seriously craving beans and rice on Friday, so I decided to flip through Viva Vegan (by Terry Hope Romero), which is all Latin dishes. I’ve never been very good with dried beans, so I thought I’d read up since beans are a staple in Latin food. I figured if anyone knew how to make beans, they did. I got some really great pointers, one of them being that beans taste better the next day. So while I made refried beans from a can, I had a pot of dried beans going on the back burner… the results of that experiment will be a future post.

While I was reading up on how to do dried beans, I came across a recipe for refried beans with the option to use canned beans (p.86). As much as I love my Mexican Bean Mixture 6 Ways, it lacks some of the authenticity that I was craving from some Mexican restaurants. I wanted some really good rice and refried beans, so I thought I’d make my own, with the help of Terry’s knowledge. I usually tweak a recipe, even on the first attempt, but this time I pretty much stuck to her recipe and her ideas.

First I had to get the rice started. I chose to make wild rice and it takes an hour (50 min cooking, 10 min resting). I used my favorite flavor enhancer, my je ne sais quoi, better than bouillon vegetable base. Added it to the water and then added the rice and cooked according to the package directions…

Meanwhile, I made refried beans… I used an anaheim chili rather than a jalapeno or serrano because I’m a wimp…

Oh, the salt mixture in the little glass bowl is this…

The directions say to use a potato masher, but it wasn’t really doing the job very well, so I pulled out the big guns… or rather the little big guns… the magic bullet… be careful opening it after blending, it’s hot and full of pressure…

I kept the beans on low for a bit longer to thicken them up more…

I also whipped up some homemade guacamole… using that potato masher…

I chopped up and deseeded some heirloom tomatoes…

Then set up the spread…

I wasn’t in the mood for your typical burrito, like I said I was really craving refried beans and rice like you get at restaurants… so I made it a bit more free-form when I plated it up…

It was awesome! I might add a bit more salt to the beans, but other wise, awesome! So far, I’m liking this cookbook. A future post will show my experimentation with dried beans following the tips from that book…

Until next time…
~nic

8 thoughts on “Homestyle Refried Beans…

  1. Hello there

    That dish looks seriously deelicious!! I can’t wait to try it. I was wondering if you might like to try Goose Valley Wild Rice as it is 100% whole grain, gluten-free and Grade A quality.

    I can arrange for some to be sent to you free of charge if you are interested in trying out the Goose Valley brand. Please let me know where you would like it sent, and check out goosevalley.com for recipe ideas.

    All the best,

    Nicole

  2. I’ve been interested in making refried beans at home so thanks for the schooling!

    I am not allowed to make guac at home though since I live alone and would down the whole bowl in one sitting ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • simplyshaka – I’m a big fan of guac as well… I figure I don’t make it that often and avocados are ‘good’ fat, so if I eat it all, well, at least it wasn’t trans-fats right? ๐Ÿ˜‰ My guac recipe is only avocados, salsa, garlic powder, and lemon… so not a whole lot there to be worried about. ๐Ÿ™‚ In fact, according to this site, avocados have “nearly 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid”… sounds like a reason to eat guac to me. ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Bites… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

