Bunnies and More Fun with Kale…

I had kind of a restless night… at 3am… I was warm and uncomfortable and I couldn’t get my mind to calm down, by a little after 4am… I gave up… I got up and read a few blog posts, and posted one of my own. One of the quotes I mentioned this morning has been on my mind quite a bit…

    “I’m running towards inner peace.”
    – by the lovely Angela from Oh She Glows.

I managed to hurt myself a bit during our move. I’m fairly certain it happened from lifting heavy things. My left leg and my right wrist still hurt even though it’s been something like two months. For my leg, I’m thinking I overstretched either my adductor brevis or adductor longus muscle. So my exercise routine has been fairly nonexistent. My wrist hurts when I do many yoga poses, and my leg in some as well. Walking isn’t really an issue for my leg, but I find myself re-tweaking it doing daily things like getting out of a chair. So I haven’t wanted to push it and injure myself further. But the consequence of not exercising much is that my sleep lately has been crazy. I can fall asleep in the middle of the afternoon for a few hours, but can’t sleep through the night, even when I don’t take a nap. So I decided it was time to go for a walk, perhaps even jog, today and see where it takes me.

For my listening enjoyment, I listened to the ‘couch to 5k’ podcast, but I went back to week one, since it’s been awhile. Next, I decided that I was not going to be concerned with how far or how fast I went today… or for that matter, any day henceforth. In fact, I’ve taken down my ‘operation exercise’ page. It occurred to me that I was being hard on myself by keeping a record of how fast I was going. Being a beginner at running it was, well, rather silly of me to expect to be able to run an 8 minute mile. In fact, at this juncture it’s a rather ludicrous idea. So today, I decided that what the run should be about is what I enjoy… and what I enjoy is watching nature wake up in the morning while exerting myself enough to get an exercise high. The numbers (distance and duration) are just detrimental to me… so the only numbers I focused on today were the number of bunnies I saw…

I saw 12 bunnies! 😀

Even though I had my cell phone (read: small camera), I did not document my adventure this morning. Instead, I focused on looking around at nature; bunnies, flowers, and ocean views; smiling, not pushing myself, and concentrating on my form… all the while making sure I did not injure my adductor muscle any further. During the running parts of the podcast, if I started to feel some pain in my shins or my breathing was such that I could not hold a conversation, I’d slow my pace, if that was not enough, I’d slow to a walk. When the podcast got to the halfway point I saw that I knew a path that would take me in a loop rather than having to turn around. I had no idea how long the path was to get me back home, but I decided that I’d just walk if I needed to. I rather enjoyed the fact that I didn’t have a time to beat or a distance to achieve, and several of the bunnies I saw were on the path I would not have taken had I chosen to turn around. I caught myself making a mental note of a signpost at the end of the first podcast as something to get past next time. “No, no, no… the only numbers I need to be concerned about is how many bunnies I see…”, I admonished myself. I tore my eyes away from this signpost of self-loathing and looked out to see a view of the ocean.

When I got home I felt good… not only had I run at a more appropriate speed for me, I had seen nature wake up, and I helped a fellow runner find her way back to her hotel.

I was rather warm, a bit sweaty, and possibly a bit stinky… so I was torn between eating or taking a shower first. I ended up choosing a shower, I think I was a bit stinky. My food of choice? Why this beauty, of course…

Followed closely by this…

My posts lately have been a bit heavy, so I thought I’d lighten things up a bit by showing you some more fun uses I’ve found for kale…

If you missed it, I made a Mediterranean Inspired sandwich with kale…

To use up the last of the kale, I decided to add it to our BBQ burgers…

First I wilted the kale, very much like I did for the Med Sandwich, only this time I didn’t use peppers and onions, just a bit of olive oil…

I’ve found that there are some strong flavored foods that just go really well with other strong flavored foods. So the BBQ sauce, pickle, and kale actually worked very good together. The kale flavor was a bit lost to the BBQ sauce, but still added a bit of texture. And, of course, added quite a bit of nutrients to the sandwich.

BBQ veggie burger w/ kale served with fries and ketchup… Rating: Awesome.

Oh, yeah… a few photos too…

I saw a caterpillar…

Also I thought this was pretty cool/ strange… apparently the magnolia gets this little curly-cue top on it prior to blooming… neat!…

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Bunnies and More Fun with Kale…

  1. Pingback: Aimless. Goalless… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Pizza Stone Love… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Sleep Battle… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

