I am proud of who I am…

I imagine a Yoda-like creature looking upon me and saying, “Strong in this one, the negative self-talk is. Yes, hmmm.” [convert your words to yoda-speak]

I was thinking this morning about how negative I was to myself yesterday… and how I need to stop regretting my past. Some paths are just not meant to be. I know in my heart that I would not have been happy in the professions of surgeon or fashion designer… they really aren’t my personality. Neither industry would have fed my soul. My current path is more my speed. I am still on the path of either learning more computer science kung-fu or honing my culinary skills. Who knows, maybe I’ll be a photographer. But negative self-talk is getting me nowhere.

While I’m unboxing and trying to get all our stuff to fit into a new space, I think I need to really look around and purge some things that when I see them they bring about these kinds of feelings. I don’t think I could (or should) part with my portfolio… as painful as regret is, I am proud of my work. I still like my designs and would probably wear them to this day, and I think that says a lot. Not only about my beliefs in myself that I completely ignored yesterday, but of my skills for having ideas that could probably have stood the test of time. Plus, I’m intrigued by the progression of my drawing skills… I can see within the designs when I got the hang of certain things. Since I haven’t doodled in some 12 years, I also look at these drawings like someone else did them. And in a sense, someone else did… I’m no longer that person. And I really am ok with that.

Going down memory lane can be good and happy, but sometimes, like yesterday, it brings up some unresolved feelings of regret. And I think sometimes, memory lane can be detrimental to your journey of looking forward. So, yeah, there are some things that will be given to goodwill. The items themselves are fine, for someone else, but for me, they really do need to go.

So with that, I’m going to go through my things and try to remain positive, while I remove the negative-inducing things from my shelves.

I hope you are having a good day, and when a Yoda-like creature tells you, “Strong in this one, the negative self-talk is. Yes, hmmm.” Lift your chin, look him straight in the eye and say, “Proud of who I am, I am. Yes, hmmm.” *cough* I mean… “I am proud of who I am.”

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “I am proud of who I am…

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Inspirations… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Trust Myself… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

