Mediterranean Inspired Sandwich…

I was totally craving hummus… but I had kale that needed to be eaten… hummus and chips… or kale salad…

Then I got a great idea… a sandwich with hummus, and sauteed veggies… yeah, and maybe kale… or kale salad on the side…

Here’s how it went…

First I got out the inspired ingredients: Italian bread, kalamata olives, kale, onion, red & green peppers, garlic, hummus…

Then I sauteed a small onion, 1/4 green pepper, 1/2 red pepper, 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil with salt and pepper… then I pushed it off to the side and added a leaf of kale (sliced)…

Using tongs, instead of the spatula that I was using, I wilted the kale… I didn’t want to overcook it, I just wanted it to be a bit easier to chew…

I repeated the process with another leaf… each leaf took less than a minute each…

Then I took all the peppers and onions off the heat as well…

Then I sliced up 4 kalamata olives… just about to assemble…

I spread hummus on each side of the bread, topped with the kale, then the onion/pepper mix, and kalamata olive slices…

Placed the other slice of bread on top, and cut it in half…

The verdict? Wow! I really liked this sandwich. I wasn’t sure about adding the kale at first, but I tasted it after I wilted it and was happy with the results. The hummus and pepper/onion/kale would have made a nice creamy sandwich by themselves, but the kalamata olive was the key ingredient here. It really gave it the zing. IMHO, this sandwich rivals the WF deli sandwiches I’ve been getting lately… only I could control the oil on mine… I’ve always felt that restaurants/delis use way too much oil when they grill/saute veggies… mine was *just right*. I will be making this again in the future. 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Mediterranean Inspired Sandwich…

  1. This looks fabulous and simple. I could eat kalamata olives all day long and be a happy gal 🙂

    I haven’t bought Sabra hummus in awhile but I think I need to restock when I get back in town.

  2. Pingback: Bunnies and More Fun with Kale… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

