Zucchini and Tomates with Quinoa…

Let’s take a break from all that camera talk and get back to the FOOD! 😀

When I went to the grocery store on Monday, I brought home some prepared foods from the deli. I mentioned the awesome sandwich, but you may have noticed the warm food in the background…

That, my friends, was an impulse buy… I had wanted some soup, but none of the selection was vegan this time. Anyway, while I was waiting for my sandwich to be prepared, I was hanging out near the salad bar and warm food bar… when something awesome smelling caught my attention… I quickly became like my basset hound and started searching using my nose… I found the source… zucchini and tomatoes… I went and got a container… and then just before I loaded up, I though, “rice, this needs rice”… I searched for brown rice but was only able to find wild rice… so I layered the bottom of the container with wild rice and then topped it off with this awesome smelling zucchini and tomatoes…

It was good, but I think the wild rice was a bit too strong of a flavor for it…

But then yesterday, I decided to make some quinoa (great cooking directions)… I added a bit of better than bouillon vegetable base to the water…

Then I opened up a can of diced tomatoes (w/ basil and garlic) and poured it into a pot (with juices)… then I cut up half a zucchini and 1/2 a yellow bell pepper and added those to the pot. I added just a touch of better than bouillon vegetable base and brought it all to a boil. I let it simmer until the zucchini was crisp-tender ~15-20 min. I tasted the broth/juice and added a pinch of salt…

Then I lined a bowl with some quinoa and topped it off with the zucchini-tomatoes… Oh, yea, this was good…

I served it with some bread…

It made about 3 servings, I gave the third serving to my taste-tester for lunch. I still have plenty of quinoa… need to see what else I can pair this wonderful grain with, I’m seriously thinking stir-fry curry. 🙂

I’ve been so busy today, that I’m still eating my dinner… I really need to wrap up the day and crash… I’ll have to tell you about my 3rd session w/ the dog trainer next time…

Until next time…
~nic

mini food diary:
(tues)…




(wed)…


3 thoughts on “Zucchini and Tomates with Quinoa…

  1. I am on such a quinoa kick as of late (I think b/c of the huge feed bag I got at Costco) and I love seeing what people do with theirs. I never used a veggie bouillon cube, is it as salty as the chicken ones (if you even know?) I’ve just been making it in water and want to mix it up a bit. I made a cold quinoa salad the other night and it turned out fabulous.

    • simplyshaka – I have a two part answer… yes and no… 😉 Yes, veggie bouillon cubes are salty… No, I don’t use a cube… what I use is a paste, so I can control the amount I’m putting into my dishes. It comes in a jar, about the size of a cup, once you open it, you stick it in the fridge. A little bit goes a long way… for the quinoa, I dipped a fork into the veg. base and had just a bit on the fork (maybe 1/8- 1/4 tsp?). I usually start out with about a tsp for a big pot of soup and add a little bit more at a time as I taste it… giving it time to mingle with the other flavors before adding more. Think of it as adding salt or pepper to a dish, you eventually just know how much you’ll like, or have a really good idea… same thing… over time you will think of even more things to add this to… it’s like when a dish just needs something… is it salt? not sure… this veg. base adds a bit of salt but also something else, undefinable, which is why I call it my ‘je ne sais quoi’… it works just about every time to finish off a dish that just needed a bit of ‘something’. Hope that helps. 😀

      I definitely missed my ‘je ne sais quoi’ when I cooked up that soup in the hotel. Here’s what I use… better than bouillon vegetable base… it also comes in other flavors that I have not tried: chicken, beef, turkey, mushroom, not-beef, not-chicken… and more.

  2. Pingback: CA Cash Refund, Pup Training Session 3, and More Quinoa… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

