Angry Stomach…

This past weekend I’ve had an upset stomach… and my taste-tester has been out of town… 😐 I didn’t blog about it, because I was taking my energy and using it creatively by blogging and taking copious (I seem to like that word lately) amounts of photos with my new camera. :mrgreen:

Now that my taste-tester in on a flight back to me, I’ll be picking him up at midnight, I feel like talking about my stomach and it’s angry tendencies…

Since my move, I’ve been fairly lax on the whole vegan thing, especially when eating out… not that I ran out and bought milk and eggs and ate tubs of ice cream… no, more like I’ve had three pizzas, several waffles, a milk shake, cheese (which seemed to show up on everything, especially salads), and sauces that were most likely made with dairy in the past month. I didn’t specifically order these items, but I also didn’t ask for them to remove the eggs and dairy either. I was actually surprised that my stomach didn’t tell me off earlier… which in and of itself should tell me something…

We usually don’t eat out, because I generally get an upset stomach. I’ve never been clinically diagnosed, but IBS sure seems to fit the bill. Anyway, for as long as I can remember, I’ve had chronic bouts of (I’ll call it) ‘angry stomach’. I had other medical problems too, so I was always sick and medicated… but that’s another story for another day (if ever)… actually, the being medicated is a good place to start…

I tend to shy away from medicating my symptoms now. It seldom made me feel better, but always made me feel brain hazy… not good. I am a firm believer in trying to figure out WHY my body is unhappy rather than covering up the symptoms with medication.

But back to the topic… so we don’t go out to eat much because within 30 min or less I’m in the bathroom… in pain (& hoping I won’t pass out*)… not a fun dinner & a movie, when you’re in the bathroom the majority of the movie. 😕 I can usually point my finger at the restaurant in question, saying that they used way more oil on their food than I cook with… but in all honesty, I really don’t know for sure the culprit. What I do know is, that when I went vegetarian and started cooking for myself I became healthy… I seldom had any of the symptoms that plagued me as a youth. Then when I became a vegan, the heartburn I tended to get almost daily went away. So why on earth am I surprised that my body has finally had enough of this ‘I’m on vacation’ diet?

    * the passing out comment… in my teens I passed out several times… it took years to find out that it was most likely caused by an allergic reaction to tuna fish, a staple in my diet. Once tuna was removed from my diet, the passing out went away, but the other symptoms I had still continue when I’ve eaten something that doesn’t bode well with my stomach… to which I have dubbed ‘angry stomach’.

My taste-tester left town Thursday morning and I had plenty in my kitchen to last the weekend (since I can’t leave the house due to the SA pup)… things went well for a while, I don’t keep a food diary, so I’m a bit hazy on the specifics… but, on Friday night I had leftover burritos… but Saturday morning I woke up to an upset stomach… nervous about what to eat, I avoided anything I had the previous day… actually I didn’t eat much at all… I vaguely remember lots of tea and some get better soup… by the time evening rolled around I was hungry. I decided to just go for it and had a kale salad (I only ate half) and salt & vinegar chips (which were awesome btw)… apparently the vinegar or perhaps the kale was a bad bad idea… my stomach was even angrier… 😕 I finally got to bed, after having a cup of tea, around midnight… much later than I had planned… I was actually able to sleep 8ish hours… wow… but my stomach was still pretty pissed off this morning too. My taste-tester asked if he should get an earlier flight home… I’ve been through this before, I knew I just needed to take it easy… he could stay until planned. (Great guy ♥)

So today, I was EXTREMELY cautious… I avoided all kinds of things. Wheat, soy, dairy (I don’t have any dairy, actually)… I spent a good portion of my time today looking into elimination diets for food intolerance. I started the morning off with some herbal tea (in my healthy body mug, of course)…

Many hours later, I made a smoothie… I made my own cashew milk (by soaking a handful of nuts for 3 hours, draining and rinsing the water, then adding one cup of fresh cold water and blending well in the vitamix)… I was hoping the probiotics in the amazing grass would help…

— cashew milk, frozen banana, frozen blueberries, 1 pkt berry amazing grass —

I was amazed and glad that this didn’t need any sweetener… I sipped it slowly… and waited to see if my stomach would settle. It was very thick (b/c of the cashew, I suspect) and delicious.

I emersed myself in other tasks to keep my mind off my stomach woes… I finally braved a lara bar…

Oddly by dinner time, I was craving a warm pita with hummus… I didn’t have those things, and I couldn’t go out to get them… so I opted for something I hoped would be soothing, least I piss off the gurgling angry stomach further… oats & green tea.

At the first bite, my stomach gurgled… crap… so I ate really slowly, so slowly in fact that I washed dishes between bites… by the time I got to the end of the bowl, my stomach accepted that this was a reasonable dinner choice…

At the moment, everything seems ok…

Back to the elimination diet research… I’ve decided that instead of focusing on things I “can’t” have, I’m going to focus on the abundance of foods that I can have, namely, veggies, fruit, yogurt (made w/ coconut milk), and smoothies. I thought about the diets of fellow bloggers out there who have changed their diets due to various food intolerance symptoms (Averie, Gena, Elise, and Sarah). I thought about the foods they turn to… avocados, sweet potatoes, fermented foods, etc… and the foods they avoid, soy, wheat, dairy… so I think the best solution for me, at this time, is to go back to eating my vegan diet that consisted of lots of salads, smoothies, and fruit… and see where I go from there… I may end up avoiding soy and wheat, but for now, I’m going to focus on getting ‘back on track’… the place I was at just before this move… and then… who knows…

So that’s my ramble… I’m off to pick up my taste-tester from the airport… tomorrow when he gets off work I’ll be perusing the isles of the grocery store in a quest to stock my kitchen with foods that heal. 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Angry Stomach…

  1. Pingback: Shopping Excursion… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Friday Night Bites… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

