3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast – Part Four

Ok we have a lot to cover here… 92 photos….

Ok, Ok… I’ll pick out the best ones… shesh!

When last I left you we were just about to go for a walk around Pacifica…(part three)

My taste-tester thought these trees were amusing because they looked like they were leaning away from the ocean. Turns out this is what is called salt pruning, who knew? Uh, probably everyone who lives near the coast… oh… then that wouldn’t have been us until now. Did you know?

We really liked the purple splash of color on the hill and were determined to get up there and see those flowers up close…

Ok, maybe not there… but this looks doable…

We have a fascination with dandelions… when Floofy was a young pup he was very curious about things… one day he put his mouth around a dandelion and then blew out the white fluffy parts… it was awesome and one of our favorite memories. 🙂 I am also fascinated by the way a dandelion goes from being a yellow daisy-like flower to that puffy white flower… for years I tried to convince my taste-tester that they were the same flower… finally I did research and showed him this, but it wasn’t until we actually looked closely (and touched) a yellow flower that I could show him that the white seeds were being formed under the yellow petals… so if you see two goobs taking copious amounts of pictures of dandelions… that’s probably us 😉 …

Half-way up the hill looking back…

One of the really neat things about being on the coast is seeing the clouds blanket a hill/mountain…

Those infamous purple flowers…

There were some benches along this path up the hill, all dedicated to someone who had passed… I really liked Poopsie’s philosophy… btw, why is it that people from that generation have the coolest nicknames?…

My MIL is a lover of plants, she should be a botanist… the whole time we were on this hill we were thinking of her… man, she would have loved all these plants!… these pictures are for you!… Are you ready to play name that flower?

Creeping up on those purple flowers…

Much higher up on that hill… love the clouds on the mountains…

Ok… fair warning… geek alert… we are fans of Dr. Who… my taste-tester got a kick out of taking a picture of this ‘call box’… we are nerds ;)…

Dr. Who - Police Call Box

The path on the hill…

Wild flower explosion…

I think my taste-tester has an affinity for the flowers that really stand out… he was fascinated by the aforementioned purple flowers and these orange flowers…

We found this amusing… clearly we are noobs… check out the cloud over that mountain!…

Ah! Finally… I was wondering when we’d get a picture of you, cutie… wanna know a little secret? having a treat in your hand can really get some great expressions ;)…

check out this bench made of a tree… it is so used that it is smooth and we thought it was plastic at first… (notice that Little-bit avoids looking at the camera if you have no treat. 😛 )…

pretty orange flowers… what are these?…

roses…

Little-bit and some pretty pink flowers… clearly I have a treat again… such concentration…

snail sighting… I had no idea how many snails would suddenly come into my life…

I was waiting for my taste-tester to get us lunch at Rock’n Rob’s… here’s a small part of Pacifica we were not aware of last time we were here… so pretty…

Lunch… french fries and milk shakes (chocolate and strawberry), the whipped cream has melted, oops… Rock’n Rob’s has kind of a 50’s feel to it and it got all these ‘best of’ awards… they had veggie burgers on the menu and even looked like they knew how to prepare them b/c they had lots of options for toppings… we still had leftover Italian food, so we opted to just try out the shakes and have some fries… can you tell I love fries?…

Verdict? Awesome shakes and fries… unfortunately, though, I think all the days of eating out and non-vegan meals caught up with me b/c the next day I had serious stomach cramps (and it wasn’t because of Aunt Flo either) and it wasn’t fun b/c I was driving down S I-5 that day and it was HOT… so maybe I have a mild intolerance to dairy… good shakes though… my taste-tester felt fine, btw. If we had stayed an extra day we probably would have been back to try the veggie burgers… 😀

Ok, so it was 42 pictures… heh 😕

This concludes the 3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast series… I hope you enjoyed it!

*I have something very exciting coming up in the next post… stay tuned! 😀

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast – Part Four

  1. Pingback: Happy Holidays!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

