Flapjacks…

Before I get to the flapjacks… I wanted to showcase my dinner last night, just because it was so comforting and made a great picture…

I had Get Better Soup… I didn’t have all the ingredients, like parsley and green onion, so I improvised and used dried basil and oregano. It was delicious. πŸ™‚

Ok, on with the flapjacks…

This is a new one to me… did you know that the word ‘flapjack’ does not mean pancakes in England? I didn’t either… Apparently it means “sweet tray-baked oat bar made from rolled oats, butter, brown sugar and golden syrup” [source]…

Hey, I’m all over oat bars…

Why am I telling you this? Yesterday I was checking out some other food blogs… and I came across this gluten-free vegan blog… I’d seen it before, but somehow must have lost the URL because I forgot about it… anyway… I’m glad I found it again because she posted a recipe for flapjacks… the oat bar kind… and I just had to make them. πŸ™‚

The author of Gluten-Free Tries Vegan lives in the UK… I love reading recipes from the UK, they are so much fun! I love their use of other words for things… I also love to watch British shows and have picked up some of their words and incorporated them into my own speech… like the word bit. I used to watch a lot of Nigella Lawson’s food shows (Nigella Bites, Nigella Feasts, and Nigella Express) as well, I love ‘tip the ingredients into the tin’… love that.

But I digress…

The ingredients are in grams (see recipe)… luckily I have found my food scale… I only made a half batch… because I kept putting margarine into the bowl on the scale and got to 85g and started to wonder if I was doing it wrong… it seemed like a lot of margarine. I continued to add 85g of sugar, and 112g of oats… I didn’t have fresh blueberries, so I substituted frozen cherries… also my coconut is sweetened… I think next time I’ll reduce the sugar just a tad b/c of the sugar on the coconut…

Can I take just a minute here to GUSH about my oven? After all that bemoaning I did before leaving the DC area, about not having an oven while on my journey… it has taken me this long to actually use the oven… I’m so silly. Anyway… my oven…
is.SO.COOL! After doing my high school math and converting °C to °F, you know

°F = (°C x 9/5) + 32,

I came up with 356°F…

(180°C x 9/5) + 32 = 356°F.

So I set my new oven to 355°F… wait… I set the oven… with push buttons… hee hee… then a timer started and about 10 minutes later… it beeped at me that it was ready… SO COOL! Know what else? It has a light on the inside! Heehee! So happy about my oven!

I know what you’re thinking… what the??!! nic has finally lost it…

Let me explain… my previous oven… the one I lived with for nearly 5 years… was one, my first gas range/oven and two, as cheap a model as the apartment complex could find (apparently), so it had this venting part at the top of the stove, no light inside, and the weirdest part, instead of there being a drawer on the bottom – that was the broiler. But I’ve moved… all the way across the country… so it just doesn’t matter anymore. Now, I’ve got a great kitchen with awesome appliances… all is right with the world. πŸ™‚

So about those flapjacks…

I whipped up a half batch, placed it in the oven for 25 minutes – while it made my apartment smell absolutely wonderful- and then took them out to cool. Completely cool??!! After 20 minutes, I could wait no longer! So mine are not quite bars…

But absolutely DELICIOUS! Have I said awesome? AWESOME too. πŸ˜‰

I served it with tea…

Aww isn’t it cute? I love my little teapot.

Ok, I think I’ve gushed enough…

Little-bit and I went for a walk this morning and saw this cute little guy…

So we waited patiently for him to cross the road…

Have you ever noticed that when you are trying to take a picture of a live subject, they won’t look at the friggin’ camera?

and when they do, they give you the ‘wouldja stop it’ look… classic…

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Flapjacks…

  1. Hi there! I’m so pleased you like the flapjacks! It is a great word, isn’t it. I bet the cherries worked a treat in them! You may have needed to cook the flapjacks for a bit longer since the cherries were frozen… unless you left them to thaw before adding them to the recipe. Anyway, nice job πŸ™‚

    And your pooch is so cute! We desperately want a dog… hopefully one day. x

    • Sarah – The flapjacks turned out pretty good… I think the cherries were a bit thawed, not on purpose though… I was talking on the phone while preparing the flapjacks… so they weren’t rock-hard frozen. I was wondering if I need to get them a bit more golden though… so a few more minutes might have been good. πŸ™‚

      For dogs, may I suggest Basset Hound! I have had several different breeds over the years, I’ve always had a dog in my life (I remember my first pup from when I was five πŸ™‚ )… and I think I like Basset Hounds the best. For the most part, they are really mellow, but curious and friendly ( a bit stubborn too πŸ˜‰ ). I used to have two bassets, two years apart, one died a few years back and now this little guy still misses him and can’t imagine life without me in sight (separation anxiety). They are very social animals, but don’t let my current situation of separation anxiety scare you off… most dogs can handle change much better than this little guy. πŸ™‚ He’s 14 years old, which is old for Bassets… they usually have a life-span of 10-12 years… so I’m babying him b/c he deserves it. πŸ˜‰ For more about my other pup, who had a very wise demeanor, we were all affected by his death, check out these posts (Reflection Day, Floofy). And a bit of a happier post… Little-bit’s 14th birthday celebration. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the tips! When we do finally get a dog (need a garden first) there will be some debate as to which one we get. Both Tom and I have always had dogs too; Tom’s a big retriever and labrador fan whereas I adore west highland terriers. I think both of us are heavily influenced by the dogs we grew up with. We’ll prob end up getting a rescue dog so may not have the luxury of choice when it comes to which breed, or get one Westie and one Lab. Hopefully next year πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

