One Month and Five Days…

Hey bloggy friends and family…

One month and five days, that’s how long it has been since I’ve seen my belongings…

We waved goodbye to our stuff on June 17th figuring that we’d be in San Diego long before it arrived, and also under the impression that we would be in corporate housing for a month. Things didn’t go quite according to plan, as you may recall… and as for corporate housing… it never happened… but that’s ok, we made it work anyway.

Thursday, July 22nd, we were reunited with our belongings! Yea! I’m not sure how we did it, but that PODS container was emptied in less than four hours. The dolly I purchased was the best purchase I’ve made in years! What a great tool! It also helped that we were putting most things in our attached garage… the moving of things up the stairs is still in progress.

You may recall that the majority of our furniture is from IKEA, so we’ve been rebuilding our furniture. The first thing on my agenda was to build the bed. One month and five days without MY bed was waaay too long. I celebrated the reuniting of me and my bed on Friday by taking a much needed afternoon nap. 😉 I think my taste-tester is celebrating similarly right now, I think the bed has sucked him in, heehee 🙂

We are still building our furniture and bringing boxes up from the garage, it is starting to feel like home.

Today I put contact paper on the shelves in the kitchen. Do you do this too? It may not be ‘green’, but it is something I’ve been doing for years and have found it to be very comforting. One, because I’m skeeved out thinking of what the person before me may have had on those shelves… but two, because it makes clean-up when you move out sooooo much easier. At our last place, apparently one of my cooking oils must have leaked, because the shelf had some oily stains on it… no problem, I removed the contact paper and the shelf was good as new. That’s a great seller right there… less work when moving out. 😛

This week I got reunited with a few of my other beloved belongings… my vitamix pretty much lived in the trunk of my car the whole trip… but on Monday and Tuesday of this week I put that baby to work… yummy smoothies, oh how I’ve missed you!…

Chocolate-Banana-Berry Smoothie… (using cocoa powder and amazing grass green superfood – chocolate, frozen banana and blueberries)…

Berry-Banana Smoothie… (using amazing grass green superfood – berry, frozen banana and blueberries)…

I was not in any one place long enough to take advantage of being able to freeze my bananas… which make smoothies awesome… so I just decided to wait. The wait was worth it though, because these were absolutely delicious!

I have a ton more work to do before I can see my garage again… this apartment complex expects one car to go in the garage because of limited parking… don’t want to make my new neighbors mad… so I’d better get back to it…

But before I go, I wanted to mention that although I haven’t seen any squirrels lately, I have seen lots and lots of snails…

a few lizards… (some as small as my thumbnail)…

and some humming birds. The humming birds are as evasive as the squirrels, so I’ve yet to get a picture of them. They do however seem to love these flowers… (Does anyone know the name of these flowers? My taste-tester says that they remind him of fireworks 🙂 )…

Speaking of neat plants… it is really neat how this area has taken different measures to green up the place without using grass… (Does anyone know the names of these flowers?)…

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

