First day of dog training…

Wow, I don’t know where all the time goes, I really wanted to work on my slide show yesterday, but I didn’t hit publish on yesterday’s catch-up post until 8pm. Then I needed to prepare dinner and go to bed. So sorry about not getting that out. Today has gone just as quickly… it’s only a few hours before my taste-tester gets home and then I need to run to the store and get some more supplies for around the apartment. Then it’ll be a late dinner and then bedtime! Sheesh. When did my days get so packed? Hey, I’m not complaining, it’s better than being bored.

Little-bit and I had our first day of training. It went really well, I learned lots and have a bunch of homework to do before our next appointment (next week). Since Little-bit is so hard of hearing to the point of not really hearing anything (due to his aging), I’m going to have to teach him a few new tricks sans words. He’s very food motivated, so I think we will be fine. This week’s commands (‘come’ and ‘go to your bed’) are fairly straight forward and I think Little-bit is already getting the hang of it. Also I bought him a bunch of food cavity toys (Kongs, etc.) that I will be giving him his feedings in. Something to engage his mind more, give him a job kind of thing. The hardest part of my homework is not engaging with him when he asks for attention but rather when it is my idea. I’m so eager to do all this stuff, I think I’ve worn poor Little-bit out. After working on a kong for his lunch and then being given a canine genius as a treat, he went to his bed in another room to sleep. 🙂

So, this is just a note to those of you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next installment of my slide show… I’m going to go work on it right now!

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “First day of dog training…

  1. Pingback: Tweak the Puppy!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Angry Stomach… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

