3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast – Part One…

I have a ton of pictures to share. I had trouble deciding whether it would be better to divide the pictures up into categories or just show them sequentially. But I think my memory of what and where will be triggered better if I show them sequentially.

There were all kinds of things that I saw but was unable to take pictures because I was driving at the time. I tried to remember where those locations were so that I could use some of the Google Maps Street View to show what I saw. Most of the time I couldn’t recall where I was exactly, so I couldn’t find a street view, but other times street view was taken at an entirely different season and it didn’t look like the way I saw it. So I think we will stick to my pictures.

Hopefully I’m not about to bore the pants off you. Am I about to become Patty and Selma Bouvier? Patty and Selma are often shown to have gone on vacations and bringing back long dull slide shows.

I’ll let you decide…

Ok… oh yeah, before I left the DC area I spotted a bunny!…

And a squirrel…

A few meals just before we left to clean stuff up… yummy pasta and a huge salad with apple juice…

One last picture of Floofy’s garden before we go…

Let’s get on the road already!

This is a recurring theme… Little-bit was so confused and irritated by the long drives that he would demand that we set up his bed right away… then he would calm down and totally zonk…

First meal on the road that was not ‘squirrel food’… I had fruit and Lara bars for us in the cars, I also had chips, bread, cereal, and some Amy’s canned soups for us on those nights when we were too tired to get dinner out. This is when we were in Champaign, IL. We had lunch from Panera while we waited to hear the news on the car. That was a good meal, we ate it all… well, we kept the apples for the road. Hey, where’s my fruit cup?…

Ah, there it is. I went back for it. It was worth it too!…

Little-bit crashed after a long day of sleeping in the car…

Oh, I have an outside thermometer that I’ve been using for years, especially in the winter and summer. I set it up to tell me the temperature in the back seat so that while I was driving I could make sure that Little-bit wouldn’t overheat. It became very valuable when we were in desert country. The device on the left was really cool too. it is an FM-transmitter that takes various types of memory sticks (usb and sd), I filled it up with all my music (mp3)…

Little-bit hanging out in the hotel room in Lincoln, NE…

Mmmm… dinner. We ordered from Olive Garden this time. I practically inhaled my salad. The soup was awesome. We tasted the pastas but were very full. We ended up eating the pasta cold for breakfast… don’t judge, haven’t you ever had cold pizza? Same kind of thing. 😉 …

Little-bit crashed again…

I don’t remember now where we were, it was a potty break, but we saw all these geese off in the distance a bit… (the pictures are click-able)…

Little-bit in my back seat…

Wyoming from a truck stop…

Ah, here’s a good place to stop. I might be a bit silly, but I thought it was really cool when my car odometer hit 100,000 miles. I wasn’t able to stop immediately so I did a little blinker dance (aka turn signal) to let my taste-tester know that I had reached this mile stone (ignore all the dog hair, heh)…

My taste-tester is on his way back from his first day of work, so I’m gonna go for now. I hope you enjoyed the first installment of my slide show. 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

6 thoughts on “3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast – Part One…

  1. Pingback: 3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast – Part Two… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Good News, Everyone!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: First day of dog training… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: A little glimpse into my personality… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

