Hello from Pacifica, California…

Woohoo! We made it to California!

We actually made it to Sacramento, California last night but for some reason the internet connection didn’t work. So I couldn’t blog. That’s ok it was a really long day, so it was nice to just veg out and go to bed. We had gotten up early in Salt Lake City, UT, then drove about 8 hours to Sparks, NV (which is just before Reno, NV). It was about 4 o’clock and we decided to drive an additional two hours to get to Sacramento,CA. I called and made a reservation, then canceled our Reno reservation and then we were back on the road.

Almost immediately entering the state of California we were greeted with the most beautiful surroundings. Oh my! The Sierra Nevada Mountains are gorgeous! Such eye candy. I loved every second of it! That was certainly the best way to spend the last leg of a ten hour drive. 🙂

We only had two hours to go today to get to Pacifica… this is the location all those years ago that made me want to move to California in the first place, so it was only fitting that we should visit it on such a long journey across the country. We are right next door to the hotel we stayed at last time, the hotel we are currently staying at allows dogs. We have an ocean view, so it doesn’t get any better than this! I mean choice vacation spot and it allows dogs, awesome!

Today was a day of firsts…

  • I faced one of my biggest fears (* I’ll explain in a bit)
  • Little-bit got to be on the beach and touch the ocean for the first time.

* So, even if you know me in person you may not know that one of my biggest fears is driving over a bridge over water. I seem to be ok on a bridge over land, it’s the water that freaks me out. I know it’s irrational, and that is what actually helped me today… the knowledge that it is just a fear, based on something trivial.

Growing up I was a very sickly kid, and when I was a teen I was a bit morbid. I thought about death a lot. Quite a few of my relatives had died and I worried about my own mortality, especially since I was always so sick. Oddly, I didn’t fear dying due to illness but instead from a car accident. I kept having a recurring nightmare that I was driving over the side of a bridge over water. I would be driving then smashing into the side rail, then falling over the edge seeing the water coming towards me and then wake up just before I hit the water. I had this dream for years. Not always the same bridge, but always the same outcome. Bridges over water = death. I was ok, to a degree, if someone else drove, but for me to drive was something I avoided at all costs. If I couldn’t get someone else to drive, then I would find a different path to drive to my destination that avoided the bridge over water.

Over the years I have been slowly trying to conquer this fear by taking baby steps. I would make myself drive over short bridges, I was white-knuckled and staring straight ahead, but I would get across. Something like the Golden Gate Bridge was just something I didn’t think I would ever be able to do. When we were here before, I made my taste-tester drive over the bridges, I was nervous, but at least I wasn’t the one driving.

Which brings me to today… I think I blocked it out that I would have to drive over a bridge, because I didn’t realize it until this morning when I was looking over the route. So I was semi-prepared. There was no way out of this, we are each driving a car. The good thing, I think, was that I was alone to face my fear. Just me and my fear, face to face…

There is a toll just before you get on the Bay Bridge crossing from Oakland to San Francisco. Yep, I paid $4 to face my fear…

At first it wasn’t too bad… then the big arches to the bridge came into view… my heart started to race, I tried to breathe and remind myself that I could do this, it is a fear based on a dream I had decades ago. I made myself look around and see the ocean and the San Francisco skyline. I’ll admit that there were tears streaming down my face, but I was in the center lane, two lanes on each side of me, I was going to be fine. The speed limit was 50, which was slow enough for me to feel safe. Every time the fear tried to come up and make me shake and cause more tears, I would make myself look around, and I would breathe. I kept wiping away the tears, because quite frankly they weren’t helpful to see. I was glad I was wearing sunglasses so that the other drivers couldn’t see that I was freaking out next to them.

But you know what folks? I did it. I really did it. I made it across safely and without being white-knuckled. I am very very proud of myself. I think some of the tears were just because this has been a long 7 days of driving and it all started coming together that we finally made it across the country. But, yeah, a lot of it was a fear response. I am almost ready to tackle the Golden Gate Bridge! Maybe not tomorrow, but it no longer seems like an impossibility. 😀

Wanna know what else? This is why it was totally worth it…

We are going to take a few days to enjoy Pacifica, after all we’ve been through in the last month, we deserve it!

I’ll write a bigger post later and show more pictures of the trip… but for now I’m going to get some veg time in and then head to bed…

Have you missed a day? Check out these previous posts:

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Hello from Pacifica, California…

  1. Pingback: Good News, Everyone!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Catch up… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: 3,300 miles… The Journey from Coast to Coast – Part Three… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: Facing Your Fears… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

