Hello from Lincoln, Nebraska… Part One

We spent an extra night in Champaign, Illinois because my taste-tester’s car died. Luckily we were able to find a mechanic and lodging. If you are going to stop someplace unexpectedly, Champaign is a really nice town. It turns out that the university near our hotel (University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign) is actually the place where the web browser Netscape Navigator was created. My taste-tester was very excited when he explained to me that Champaign-Urbana was were the Mosaic Project was created. Check out the links.

As for the car, in the late morning on Friday, we were called and told that it was the alternator and that the battery would no longer take a charge. Soon after we decided to get some much needed sleep and took a midday nap. When we awoke, we were ravenous. There was a Panera across the street, so I went and got lunch/dinner (it was about 3pm). Of course, when I returned my taste-tester told me that the mechanic called and our car was ready. So we went ahead and ate. I’ll post pictures for part two.

We decided we would leave really early on Saturday and try to get back on track, so it would be a 9 hour drive. So, I went ahead and changed all our reservations to bump them all a day. We arrived at the mechanic about 5-10 minutes to closing. The car sounded good, it started just fine… but unfortunately the door locks wouldn’t work… so my taste-tester went back into the service center and told them the new symptoms. They thought it was a fuse… nope, it is probably electrical. So we left it overnight, hoping it would be fixed early the next day. We went ahead and got up early, ate breakfast (the complementary breakfast at the hotel… make-it-yourself-waffles, juice, and yogurt), and packed up just like we were leaving and set our bags by the door. We got the call that the car was ready (it was a computer reset kind of thing), and we were on the road by 10am. Woo hoo!

So now here we are in Lincoln, Nebraska. 🙂

I’m about to initiate my taste-tester into my ‘touch all the states club’. As a kid growing up we drove across the country quite a bit. My grandparents lived on each of the coasts. Even though I have never been overseas, I do have the claim to fame of having been in a car driving through the states in all of them but 8, the New England states, Hawaii, and Alaska. I was pretty young at the time, so I really don’t remember much. But just this trip alone, as my taste-tester’s initiation into the club he has been through these states:

    Virginia
    Maryland
    West Virginia
    Pennsylvania
    Ohio
    Illinois
    Iowa
    Nebraska

Wow, that’s quite an initiation… we’ve only been on the road for what, three days?

Oh, my dinner is getting cold… I’ll write again soon.

Have you missed a day? Check out these previous posts:

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Hello from Lincoln, Nebraska… Part One

  1. Pingback: Good News, Everyone!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

