Birthday Celebrations and Produce Friday…

Yesterday was Little-bit’s 14th birthday! 🙂 So to celebrate while camping in our living room, we’ve had to get creative. I’ve been taking him on little walking adventures all week (I posted about those adventures here and here) and today was no exception. But let me tell you about last night first…

Since I did not make Little-bit a cake this year, I thought he would enjoy a little bit of canned food, since that is a treat for him. You may recall last year on his birthday that he gave me a little scare and I had to get him special food. Well I still have a few cans of that left, so I thought I’d give him that, in lieu of a cake. He inhaled it… I think he was ok not having a cake this year. 😉 Of course, I took pictures…

“I am not amused”…

Canned food…

“Oh, that’s why I’m wearing the hat?”…

“I’ll take some of that”…

“Nom, nom, nom”…

After Little-bit’s food scarfing, I set about to make dinner… camping style. I got out my new camping gear and made pasta. It’s been awhile since I’ve made pasta without salting the water first (because I don’t have any salt)… perhaps this was first time, actually. It turned out just fine. 🙂

I took advantage of the locking handle and holes in the lid to strain the pasta…

Then I added the sauce…

Served it with some toast and tea and called it dinner…

By the time my taste-tester got home last night (after 8 pm) I just didn’t feel like rushing to the grocery store before it closed… so we had dinner and then read for awhile. It was nice.

This morning we had intended to get up much earlier than we did, but we still took Little-bit for his birthday walk. Today we went to yet another favorite trail, we call it HT trail. Of course, I took pictures…

Hey that’s us!…

Little-bit looks happy…

Pretty sky…

The trail… lots of shade… much needed…

Happy pup…

Then we saw a squirrel! My taste-tester took the helm with the camera and slowly crept up on the little guy to get a better picture while I stayed back with the predator Little-bit…

Squirrel!…

Then we headed to the grocery store (my taste-tester and Little-bit waited out in the car, luckily, out of the sun in a car garage). I figure that if I’m going to have to be here through the weekend, I’d like some fresh produce…

Behold, my Produce Friday stash…. YUM…

I mentioned yesterday that I was thinking about making some more oat bars (Averie’s recipe), so I picked up some coconut butter, oats, and agave. Also, I though I should have some salt and pepper on hand for, at the very least, the russet potato I’m going to bake…

Oh, I picked up some olives from the olive bar… these were a variety of Greek olives…. YUM… we missed having these with our pasta last night. But I was able to put some olives in with my taste-tester’s lunch of leftover pasta…

After I inhaled one of those nectarines, I made us a second breakfast (first breakfast was toast and apple butter w/ tea)… what a great combination… strawberries and bananas on corn flakes… you gotta try it! :)…

Well, that does it for the slide-show for today…

What are you doing this weekend? We plan on taking the pup to more trails in the mornings, I’ll be sure to show you the pictures…

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Birthday Celebrations and Produce Friday…

  1. What a happy boy—I am sure he had a wonderful day! I love that he was wearing his hat and eating, too cute.

    I am jealous of all that great looking produce, can’t wait to see what you do with it. That’s funny about the pasta because I never salt the water when I make pasta so I’m not sure if it tastes better or not. Have a great wknd!

Leave a Reply

