Happy Summer Solstice…

It’s the longest day of the year, well, for those of us in the Northern Hemisphere anyway. I’ve marked the day by wearing a summer outfit consisting of a cute skort and tank from Title Nine. I also took Little-bit on a bit of a stroll on fuzzyhead trail and took lots of pictures… which I will show you shortly.

Did you see in the news that there is a wildfire in Flagstaff, AZ today? Strangely, that was supposed to be today’s destination, had we left on Friday as planned… hmmm. Maybe it’s a good thing we’ve been delayed. I think the new route we are discussing is not only less hours in the car each day, but also a more northern route due to the increased temperatures, hot car + hot dog = don’t mix.

Ok… let’s get to the pictures… I forgot to load this one last time… it was on my phone… I took it last Monday evening just after it had stopped raining. If you are keeping up, yes it did rain while we were loading the PODS container… it’s just fun times around here. 😉 Anyway, this made up for the rain… so beautiful…

Next up, some food shots using my new camping gear

Cheerios and bananas…

Cinnamon shredded wheat and nectarines…

with Silk…

Oh… I packed my parchment paper… but oddly I had some brown paper lunch bags… so I cut one up and used it instead…

It worked pretty good, soaked up all that extra oil… my tummy doesn’t like oily foods…

And here’s what you can make with a little ingenuity, an oven, a toaster and a good knife… did I mention I love watermelon?… There’s an Amy’s Texas BBQ vegan burger hiding under those pickles… glad I hadn’t cleaned out my refrigerator yet when I got the bad news that we were delayed, so I still had condiments for the meal…

Ok… now we have the fuzzyhead trail walk from this morning….

I don’t know if you can make them out, but there is a runner and a bicycler on the left…

Bet the humming birds love this…

The reason I call this path ‘fuzzyhead trail’ is because it is the home of many geese… if you’ve been following my blog long, you know that I call baby geese fuzzyheads… anyway, if I could load these next few pictures as a slide-show I would… but since I don’t know how… you will have to pretend… just scroll by really fast, maybe you’ll get to see it like it was a movie ;)…

whew… I wasn’t sure those little guys were going to make it! But luckily they did… the last two little stragglers were the fuzzyheaded young ones… they didn’t notice the rest of the group going until a bit later and then started running by themselves across the street… I think they got yelled at by an adult once they made it across, because they started running really fast towards an adult goose once they hit the grass.

Here’s the whole family safe and sound on the other side…

zoomed-in…

And now for some pretty flowers and views…

Oh, yeah… I don’t know if you can make them out… but here are some baby ducks…

zoomed-in… 🙂

Crane…

zoomed-in…

Ahhh… the end of our walk, almost to the car now…

Even though we walked just less than a half mile, the heat was being turned up… poor Little-bit was exhausted by the time we got to the car… he’s been sleeping ever since… poor little guy. Oddly, I didn’t take any pictures of Little-bit… I think that might be a first… oops. He doesn’t mind… he was hot and not feeling photogenic. 😉

You know, I’m glad I got to go to fuzzyhead trail one last time… I’ve been meaning to capture on film the baby geese this year and just haven’t been able to get there when they are out. I certainly wouldn’t admit this to management, but perhaps it was a good thing we were delayed just a bit longer… mind you I am so ready to leave it’s not funny, but today’s walk was a nice reminder that there are some things here that I won’t get to see on the west coast… I’m glad I got to capture a few more memories on film.

So, that’s what I’ve been doing with my free time… just waiting for the go signal… not sure when that will be, so…

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Happy Summer Solstice…

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Little-bit!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Birthday Celebrations and Produce Friday… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Don’t Try This (method) At Home… But Do Eat The Results… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

