Getting Inspired…

I was going to write a post yesterday about my water heater not working on Monday and having no water for the whole day while they fixed it… but really, that’s kinda boring. So I didn’t…

I was thinking that it’s been awhile since I’ve talked about food on this ‘food blog’… so let’s get back to our roots, shall we?

With all the packing and heat around here lately, we just have not been that hungry. And I have just not been that inspired to make anything ‘blog worthy’. Sadly, the greatest inspiration I had had in weeks was Maple Toast… while absolutely delicious, it is sad in it’s inspirational aspect. Maple Toast, if you’re curious, was my way of having toast with something sweet when I was out of jam. It actually tastes a bit like French Toast, so I was joking around saying it was the poor student’s french toast. 🙂

Yep, all it consists of is toast, non-dairy butter, and maple syrup. Delicious. 🙂 It’s great when you don’t have a frying pan, too.

So it went for a while, just eating up leftovers and having uninspired randomness in the kitchen…

Until yesterday, while it is still probably not the most inspired meal in existence, it is more inspired than what we’ve been eating lately…

I’ve packed up pretty much all of my pots and pans, save a 2 quart pot with a lid. I still have access to my microwave, toaster, and my stove/oven. I realized a little too late, though, that I’ve also packed up my colander… so I had to get creative.

Anyway, I bring you, Cold Noodle Salad

I had a few things in my pantry, namely the udon noodles and the peanut sauce, that inspired me to make a salad of sorts… so I picked up some romaine and cucumber… I already had the peanuts, carrots and the red bell pepper.

I made my best attempt to ‘shred’ the lettuce. I couldn’t find any romaine heads that looked fresh, so I opted for the already chopped version. I still managed to slice up the squares of romaine into more of a sliver-shape. I also sliced the cucumber, carrots, and red bell pepper into strips…

For the noodles, I cooked them according to the package, having broken them in half first to fit in the pot.

Since I didn’t have a colander and I wanted the noodles cold anyway… I used the lid and removed as much water as I could and then refilled it with cold water several times until the noodles were just below room temperature. Not an easy task, and I lost some noodles down the drain, but still doable.

Then I topped the veggies with the cold noodles and a Tbsp. of peanut sauce…

Then I tossed it all up, topped it with peanuts and called it dinner.

I served it with a bowl of cherries…

I put the peanut sauce on the table… we ended up adding about 1 1/2 more Tbsp of peanut sauce to our salads…Dinner was great!

Future dinners I have planned with my limited kitchen supplies…

  • fresh green beans steamed in the micro, mashed potatoes on the stove, and bbq veggie burgers toasted in the toaster (edit: brain-gone… and watermelon)
  • roasted sweet potato in the oven (while I still have one) and spinach salad with dried cranberries (edit: brain-gone… strawberries)

Perhaps not completely inspired… but I’m learning to work within the new limits of my kitchen supplies and will soon be ready to face not having an oven in two weeks. 🙂

In other news…
Packing is coming along… we’ve, or rather I should say, my taste-tester, has disassembled several of our Ikea pieces of furniture, so now I, being half of the moving team, can actually lift some of this stuff…

Also, the books I’m taking with me has been reduced to this…

Hey, a girl has to have her priorities… little kitchen, few cookbooks, time on my hands… need me some Buffy comics… 😉 Two of the cookbooks were bought specifically for this adventure… supermarket vegan and vegan a go-go. The spiral books are my classroom books for getting certified… plan to work on that. And then, of course, I plan to get a new camera when I get there so I have a digital photography book and some photo manipulation software books (gimp).

Speaking of photos… I’ve been getting inspired to take more photos as well… enjoy…

do you know the name of this flower?…

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

