Off the Grid…

Oh, hullo…

Sorry I’ve been a way so long… been kinda off the grid, so to speak. My taste-tester has upgraded my system to Fedora 13 and installed some new hard drives… while simultaneously using my system to aid in the backups of our digital data. I don’t mind too much, I’ve been packing.

No new news to report… still don’t know where we will be staying once we get to sunny California… so I’m assuming a hotel suite with a kitchen… but if that’s the case, then no oven, just a stove and microwave. Which means, no cakes or cookies or yummy bread… This is a bit disappointing given that June and July are chocked full of birthdays and anniversaries… so I’ve been making a few cakes (banana cake and magic chocolate cake) around here in anticipation of not having an oven until sometime in August, if not later. Today I will be taking on the huge task of packing the majority of the kitchen. I’m going to leave a few dishes and a 2qt pot out until the last minute (of course, my vitamix is going with me), but pretty much pack everything else.

It is so weird that I won’t see any of this stuff until August… weirdest move ever. Also some of the cookbooks on the short-list will be packed, since some of them were specifically set aside for baking cakes and cookies.

I’ve taken just a few photos since I last wrote, and I’ve made a really good soup using yellow split peas. I plan to write again this evening… I’m feeling the pull to get back to packing for now though.

Just wanted to let you know I’m still around…

Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Off the Grid…

  1. Good luck with the packing of the kitchen. I am moving next month and that is the pat of my apartment that is probably going to take the longest and I will have to strategize with all my gadgets and stuff. And least with no oven, you will be able to get creative with cooking, yes? Trying to stay positive there for ya πŸ™‚

    • simplyshaka – Thank you, thank you! πŸ™‚ I do remember you mentioning a new house… wasn’t sure if you’d already moved to it. Having that long to pack is nice, huh? Yeah, need to stay positive… I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine and get creative without an oven. It’s just one of those things, you know, you don’t really miss it until you don’t have it. It’s not like I would turn on my oven much during the summer anyway, but now that I won’t have one, I’m freaking out. I’m very silly. πŸ˜›

  2. Pingback: Flapjacks… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

