Green and Orange…

Packing is going along pretty well. It seems logical that we squirrel away stuff, seeing as how that’s the name I chose for my blog. Now that we are getting that ‘squirreled away’ stuff out, the amount of stuff seems to have gotten exponential! Luckily, though, once boxed up and put down in the garage it starts to look manageable again.

I took a break from packing and lifting yesterday to make myself a salad. I thought it was pretty with it’s green and orange. It’s spinach, carrots, orange bell pepper, celery, hemp seeds, sunflower seeds, and balsamic vinaigrette w/ a slice of bread and soy garden

In the last few days, I seem to be leaning toward foods that contain higher levels of iron… lentils, quinoa, spinach, sunflower seeds… I believe that once you start eating healthier and start to listen to your body it will tell you what it needs. So, mine seems to be asking for more iron, and I’m happy to provide it with such yummy foods. 🙂

Hey, did you know that Nature’s Own Specialty Breads are vegan (except the honey wheat – if you’re a strict vegan)? Yep… now you know! 🙂

I know you’ve been waiting, with anticipation, to find out which cookbooks I cannot live without for a month or two. 😉 Well the following books have made it to the short-list…

The rest of my cookbooks loaded up three boxes… heh. 😛

I may have to pare it down further, seeing as how I have to live on whatever I can fit into my car for the next month (or two)… but don’t forget that not only is my car kinda small, I have this little cutie taking up the back seat…

I’m thinking that I may not be able to take the stroller, (if it even fits) it will likely take up the majority of my trunk, leaving me with just the passenger seat for my belongings. Yes, there is a second car (which is just as small as mine), but my taste-tester has large ‘must-have’ items that will likely take up his backseat. It is going to be interesting to see just what really makes the cut.

Moving has been a roller coaster of feelings, mostly stress and anxiety about the future mingled with excitement about the novelty of a new city, which the explorer in me is delighting in. But then there are the goodbyes, I suck at goodbyes. My friend, Aimee, came over yesterday and we had a really good visit. I really needed some girl-time, I’m going to miss you Aimee! I am hopeful that our friendship will last through the distance between us.

I’m also going to miss this spot…

My dog ‘Floofy’ loved this spot, I think of him often when I’m out there… Miss you Floofy!…

Ok, getting sentimental here… need to get back to packing! 😉

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Green and Orange…

  1. That is a gorgeous salad–I love all the colors! Your packing sounds like it’s going well–bummer that the stroller doesn’t collapse and you won’t be able to bring it with you though. I am intrigued by the Vegan Italiano book.

    • simplyshaka – actually the stroller does collapse… but it’s 33inches long without the wheels, which also come off easily… I’m just not sure there would be any room for my luggage if I had that in my trunk. My car is a small 4-door sedan… remember the table from Ikea wouldn’t fit in my car, it was too big for my back door and wouldn’t fit in my trunk… but the Mazda 6 rental I had fit the table just fine… so my car is a bit smaller than a Mazda 6. 🙂 I haven’t actually tried to put the stroller in my car… I’m just assuming it would take up all the room… I’ll probably measure it this weekend, knowing that I probably will decide not to take it. 🙂

      Thanks for the props on the salad. 😀

      I got the ‘Vegan Italiano’ book fairly recently… I don’t think I’ve tried anything out of it yet, but I’ve loved every recipe I’ve tried out of ‘The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen’ so it made the short-list. 🙂

  2. Given the limited hauling space, I would recommend no cook books, especially since you will have access to all the recipes on your blog. I’m thinking any way you can lighten your load will be best.

Leave a Reply

