Lentil & Quinoa Soup…

I’ve been tweaking this lentil soup for years, it’s one of my favorites. I don’t think I ever have it quite the same though, I’m always tweaking and adding stuff… soup is very versatile. This weekend I decided to add quinoa to it, not only to help me clean out my pantry but to also reap the benefits of quinoa during my move. You do know the benefits of quinoa don’t you? If not check out this site. I think the soup turned out really well, and it made quite a bit which is helpful. Not having to cook much while packing is great.

Anyway, I mixed 2/3 cup regular quinoa with 1/3 cup Inca red quinoa. I also added 1/3 cup red lentils to the soup because I didn’t have quite enough green lentils… the red lentils practically melt in the soup giving it a thickness that is really nice.

I took pictures – a la cooking show style – back in February the last time I made this, but for some reason never got around to blogging about it. So those pictures do not have the quinoa in it. I did take a picture of this version with the quinoa though…

For the quinoa version, I chose not to blend the soup, but I usually blend it up and make it more creamy. If you do decide to add quinoa, you’ll need to add more broth (water + better than bouillon veg base). You may want to add more broth anyway depending upon how ‘brothy’ you like your soup. 🙂

Let’s get to that recipe, shall we?

Lentil Soup
by nic – the auspicious squirrel
Rating: Awesome, Favorite
Serves: 6

    1 Tbsp. olive oil
    1 carrot, chopped or sliced
    1 stalk celery, chopped
    1 onion, chopped
    6 cups water
    1/4 tsp. dried thyme (add more to taste)
    2 bay leaves
    2 cups dried lentils
    handful of parsley, chopped (optional)
    bulb of garlic
    olive oil
    1 cup quinoa (optional – add more water, if using)
    salt & pepper, to taste
    1 1/2 Tbsp. better than bouillon vegetable base (add more to taste)
    bulb of roasted garlic – see directions below
  1. Heat olive oil in a saucepan over low heat, add carrot, celery, and onion. Saute for about 10 minutes.
  2. Add water, thyme, bay leaves, lentils, parsley (if using). Bring water to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer, cook until lentils are tender, about 1 hour.

  3. Roast the garlic while the lentils are cooking… cut off top of garlic bulb, place cut side down in an oven proof container, then pour about 2 Tbsp. olive over the garlic. Cover with foil and bake in a 375°F oven 45-60 minutes.
  4. Add salt, pepper, vegetable bouillon, mashed roasted garlic and quinoa (if using) to the soup and let it simmer 15 minutes more.
  5. Taste for seasonings and doneness. Remove bay leaves.
  6. To blend or not to blend? I usually blend, but when I made this with quinoa I chose to keep it brothy and chunky.

  7. Enjoy!

I guess when I made this soup back in February, I had a kale salad as well, because there was a picture of this salad wedged in between the photos of the soup making process, mmmm looks yummy…

Must get back to packing… hope you enjoy the soup! 🙂
~nic

Leave a Reply

