Puppy Stroll(er)…

I finally broke down and got Little-bit a stroller. I might look like a nut pushing my dog around in a stroller, but I don’t care. The stroller allows me to get some exercise while allowing him to come along, and when he gets tired he can ride the rest of the way. It also means that I don’t have to leave him home alone where he would get anxious and sick (and disturb the neighbors by barking). If only I could take the stroller with me into stores, then I’d be all set.

We’ve taken a stroll(er) several times now, each time gets a little easier, we are working out the kinks. He’s a bit too short to get into and out of the stroller on his own, so I’ve had to get a little creative so that he doesn’t hurt himself. I’ve been putting the front wheel on the curb to tilt the stroller so that he can get into it. For him to get out, I’ve been ‘popping a wheelie’ and then trying to hold the stroller steady in the popped up tilt while he jumps out. Like I said, we’re working out the kinks.

The interesting thing about using the stroller is that I’m getting an upper body workout as well. I’ve only been going for a mile, but I’m pushing about a 100lbs (65lb dog + 32lb stroller) up hills… or preventing 100lbs from getting away from me going down the hills. So, in essence, I’m getting more of a workout than I was before… of course, I’m not really running with the stroller yet… have to save my strength for the hill on the way home. 😉

I’m glad to report though, that it sure seems like he’s starting to see the wisdom of the stroller and is actually starting to like it. Just look at that face! 😀

Here’s a little sneak peak of what I hope to talk about next time…

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Puppy Stroll(er)…

  1. Wow, what a workout that must be! That’s a great idea though-exercise, time with doggie and fresh air for the both of you, can’t beat it! And he just looks so happy 🙂

  2. Pingback: Green and Orange… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Sleep Battle… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

