Pineapple Stir-fry…

I mentioned in my last post that I’d talk about a pineapple stir-fry that I made recently and nearly a year ago as well. Both times I was blown away by it’s awesomeness. This is a must make meal! 🙂

For version 2.0, I made a few minor changes… one being, remembering to take pictures. 😛 I made it with quinoa this time and bought some pineapple juice to cook the quinoa in. I also mixed regular quinoa and Inca red quinoa.

*Side note: the pineapple juice I bought was really great, after I measured out what I needed for the meal, my taste-tester and I drank the rest of the bottle while our dinner cooked. 🙂

I also made a few changes to the original recipe… I used crushed red pepper flakes instead of a red chile. I omitted the mint. I used about a half pound of snow peas instead of a cup of frozen peas. And, as usual, I used better than bouillon vegetable base instead of a stock. I also increased the amount of scallions and garlic, reduced the oil, and used tamari instead of soy sauce.

And let’s not forget, the lesson from last time. Don’t store the leftovers with the cashews, because they get soft and unpleasant. So, I suggest garnishing the portioned out dishes with cashews.

Pineapple Cashew Quinoa Stir-fry
slightly adapted from Veganomicon (Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero, p.176)
Rating: Awesome

Quinoa:

    1/2 cup regular quinoa, well rinsed and drained
    1/2 cup Inca red quinoa, well rinsed and drained
    1 cup pineapple juice (I used Lakewood, not from concentrate)
    1 cup cold water
    1/4 tsp. tamari

Stir-fry:

    4 oz. cashews, raw and unsalted
    1 Tbsp. peanut oil
    4 scallions, sliced thinly
    3 large cloves garlic, minced
    a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper flakes
    1/2 inch piece ginger, peeled and minced
    1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
    several handfuls of snow peas (about a 1/2 lb.), ends trimed and cut in half
    1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, rolled and sliced in thin shreds
    10 oz. fresh pineapple, cored and cut into bite sized chunks (I used half a pineapple)
    3 Tbsp. tamari
    3 Tbsp. water
    1 tsp. better than bouillon vegetable base
    1 Tbsp. aji-mirin
    Lime wedges for garnish

For the quinoa:

    Combine the quinoa, juice, water and soy sauce in a medium sized pot. Cover, place over high heat, and bring to a boil. Stir a few times, lower the heat to medium-low, cover, and cook for 12 – 14 minutes until all the liquid has been absorbed and the quinoa appears plumped and slightly translucent. Uncover, fluff and let cool.

For the stir-fry:

    Use a large skillet or wok. Have all your ingredients pre-chopped and in reach. Place the cashews in the dry pan and heat over low heat, stirring them, until lightly toasted (4 to 5 minutes). Remove the cashews from the pan, raise the heat to medium and add the peanut oil, scallions and garlic, when the garlic starts to sizzle, add red pepper flakes and ginger. Stir-fry for about 2 minutes, then add the bell pepper and snow peas. Stir-fry for another 3 to 4 minutes, until the bell pepper is softened and the peas are bright green. Add the basil, and stir for another minute. Add the pineapple and quinoa. Combine the soy sauce, vegetable stock (water and bouillon veg base) and aji-miri. Pour over the quinoa mixture. Stir until the mixture is coated. Continue to stir-fry for 10 minutes (it helps to use two spoons/spatulas to scoop the quinoa around).

Top with cashews. Serve with lime wedges. Enjoy!

Go. Make. This. Now! 😀
Enjoy!
~nic

Leave a Reply

