Souvenir Tickets…

Yesterday afternoon we went to the movies…

We saw Kick-Ass, which by the way, was kick ass!

*Side note: does anyone else hear Cartman saying kick ass? 😀

I don’t think I was quite prepared for this movie though. I read a review, but I guess I didn’t really realize that the R rating wasn’t just for the language. The review kept making references to Quentin Tarantino movies, but I guess I didn’t really get the gravity of it. This movie, folks, was graphic. Not sexually, but brutally. A bit too real in some scenes. I’m not really a fan of Tarantino, but I have seen a number of his movies and when he goes graphic he goes over the top and has such bad dialog that it is easy to remember it’s just a movie. Kick-Ass was graphic and I forgot sometimes that it was a movie. I felt a bit queasy during and afterwards. But I still liked this movie. I was just a bit shocked, to the core. Maybe I’m just sensitive, not in a prude kind of way, but in an empathy kind of way. I felt for those guys. I don’t want to ruin it with spoilers, so I’ll stop there. If you like action movies with some good humor, go see this movie. I’m still processing the movie, which is a sign that it was a good one. I like movies that make you think.

So the movie ended and we were sitting there waiting for the credits to end and talking about the movie surrounded by loud credit music. We were the last ones in the theater (I only saw 6 people there during the previews, including us two), when a couple of management-type people came over to us. One asked to see our ticket stubs. Ok. As I handed him my ticket stub he handed me a readmission ticket, he did the same for my taste-tester. As we are looking over this slip of paper he gave us, I asked, “Why?” Figuring that this was some kind of survey or something. He said that three people sneaked into the theater, but we had ticket stubs so we were ok. And then he left.
With our ticket stubs! Hey! That’s my souvenir ticket. 😦

Sure, to you, Mr. management, it’s just a piece of paper, but to me it’s a souvenir. I’ve been collecting the movie stubs from every movie I’ve seen with my taste-tester over the last 17 years… it’s just what I do. 😦 Oh well, I guess I’ll live. I guess the readmission ticket was for being frisked and suspected? I wonder if this readmission ticket really is a free movie. I think we will try it out today.

I think we will see Date Night, while still an action movie with comedy, I think (read: hope) it’ll be a little less brutally graphic. I love Steve Carell and Tina Fey.

My taste-tester and I were talking on the way to the car about the strangeness of the ticket stub incident and the process it might take to sneak into a movie. I find it odd that someone would sit through the credits of a movie they are about to see, it seems too obvious. Seriously, how incognito is that? Wouldn’t you wait until the pre-movie type stuff? And if it had been a movie that you had sneaked into, why would you wait through the credits? Wouldn’t you leave as soon as possible? Very strange that we were suspects. Not to mention, ummm, I’m thirty-eight, like… nearly 40. I think we look young, but not so young that we look like movie sneakers. I’m just assuming here that a movie sneaker would be younger. I don’t really know. I just thought it was a really strange incident. And he took my movie stub. 😦

Q: What do you think? Have you ever been asked to show proof that you belonged in the movie theater?

Until next time…
~nic

2 thoughts on “Souvenir Tickets…

  1. That is a little odd….I’ve never had that before. But when I was younger, I was asked to see my ID to make sure I was an adult. I would love it they would do that now!

    I never even heard of Kick Ass until last wk when a coworker was telling me about it and it sounds intriguing. I’m more a light hearted movie gal but guess I could be coerced into thinking if I have to lol

Leave a Reply

