Lasagna!… (Part Two)…

Hopefully I didn’t leave you hanging too long…

Did you miss Lasagna!… (Part One)… the red sauce? Go check it out if you did…

So, yea, I totally made this up as I went along… so the red sauce is packed full of veggies… If I was going to make the red sauce for spaghetti, I probably wouldn’t have packed it so much, fyi.

I forgot to mention in my last post, that this lasagna was a bit time consuming… so it might be a weekend kind of thing… hey, the leftovers were even better. Sunday may be a perfect time to make next week’s lunches. Also, feel free to use a jarred sauce, nothing wrong with that! 🙂

Lasagna Noodles

According to the All-Edges Lasagna Pan directions…

  1. The lasagna noodles should be soaked in hot tap water for 15 minutes.

    It took me a while to find the perfect dish to soak the noodles in, but I finally settled on a cookie sheet…

    • 16 lasagna noodles, 8 per layer, soaking in hot water.

    Since the water level was just a bit scant, I turned the noodles over after 7 minutes.

During those 15 minutes, I made a béchamel sauce. I wanted to take more pictures, but unfortunately, the process doesn’t lend itself to picture taking… sorry, guys, the sauce was more important…

‘Two is the Magic Number’ Béchamel Sauce

    • 2 Tbsp. soy garden or margarine
    • 2 Tbsp. flour
    • 2 cups soy milk
    • 1 tsp. basil, dried
    • 1 tsp. oregano, dried
    • salt & pepper
    • 2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast
    • 2 tsp. arrow root
  1. Melt the soy garden in a sauce pan, over med heat…
  2. Whisk in flour and cook for a minute or two, to cook the flour.
  3. Pour in soy milk, slowly, whisking constantly, to prevent clumps.
  4. Whisk in basil, oregano, salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast. Continually whisk.
  5. Bring to a boil, reduce heat. Whisk in arrow root, be careful not to dump it in, or else it will clump.
  6. Simmer, whisking continually, until desired thickness. Taste and adjust seasonings.
  7. The whole process took me about 14-15 minutes.

  8. Remove from heat.

I added a white bean layer, that I think really adds to the texture of the lasagna.

White Bean Layer

    • 15 oz can white beans; navy, great northern, or cannellini
    • 1/2 tsp. basil
    • 1/2 tsp. oregano
    • salt & pepper
  1. Mash beans and spices together.
  2. *Notice that I did not drain the beans because this brand of beans contains seaweed that is good for you. I spoke about it here.*

    I tried various ways to mash the beans, pastry blender (shown), potato masher… but neither did very well. Ultimately, the back of a metal spoon did the trick. Hindsight, it might have mashed better without the liquid… but I was happy with the texture I ended up with…

And now, assembly. Last night, I forgot to preheat the oven… so you should do that now.

Assembly

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. (Temp and time from the All-Edges Lasagna Pan directions.)
  2. Add a small amount of red sauce to the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking.
  3. Place a lasagna noodle in each chamber.
  4. Top with red sauce.
  5. Place a lasagna noodle in each chamber, then top with bean layer.
  6. Place a lasagna noodle in each chamber, then top with spinach layer (I used the entire 5 oz container of fresh spinach I picked up on Thursday.)
  7. Pour béchamel sauce over spinach.
  8. Place a lasagna noodle in each chamber over the spinach layer.
  9. Top with rest of red sauce, being careful to cover spinach stems and noodle edges.
  10. Bake, covered with aluminum foil, for 45 minutes. Then uncover and bake an additional 25 minutes. Let lasagna rest 10-15 minutes before serving.

As I stated before, this took a bit of time. I started it a bit late, then had to leave after the red sauce was finished. My lasagna was not ready until 9:45pm… but we tasted it anyway! It was very good!

I love how clean it came out of the pan…

I packed it up for leftovers, and we had it for lunch today. It was even better! So good, in fact, that we had it for dinner too! 😀

Enjoy!
~nic

4 thoughts on “Lasagna!… (Part Two)…

  1. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen your page, but this lasagna looks delicious!!! It’s been almost 6 months without meat and no temtpations!!

  2. Pingback: Checking In… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Lasagna Revisited… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

