Lasagna!… (Part One)…

First and foremost… I love, Love, LOVE the All-Edges Lasagna Pan!

Ok, let me stop gushing long enough to show off my cooking skillz! 😀

I totally made this up as I went along. And it turned out great! 🙂 I used my culinary skills of past experience… years of making red sauce and béchamel sauce from scratch, zucchini calzone, and of course, lasagna. Must be the little Italian in me. 😉

I took a ton of pictures, cooking-show-style… let’s see if I can remember the recipe…

Red Sauce

  1. First, saute up the trinity; onions, celery, carrots… except in this case, I used parsnips and also added garlic.

  2. (apologies on this picture… it’s kinda green 😐 ) *I had pre-sliced the parsnips a few days before… apparently they oxidize… oops. I ended up not using all the parsnips shown in the picture, only the diced ones.*

    • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
    • onion, diced
    • 2 carrots (or parsnips), diced
    • 3 stalks celery w/ leaves, diced
    • 3 cloves garlic, minced
    • pinch of salt

    In a large pot, I used this one, over med-high heat, add olive oil then saute onion, celery, parsnips, and garlic with a pinch of salt. Until onion starts to become translucent.


  3. (I decided to only use the smallest one of those zucchini, btw, those parsnips in the back did not get put into the lasagna.)

    • 1 zucchini, diced
    • 1 pkg. (8oz. ?) baby portobello mushrooms, sliced then roughly chopped
    • splash olive oil
    • 1 tsp. basil
    • 1 tsp. oregano
    • salt and pepper
    • 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
    • 8 oz can tomato sauce

    Dice the zucchini and add to the pot.

    Originally I sliced the mushrooms…

    But then decided they were too big, so I roughly chopped them…

    Add mushrooms to the pot, then add a splash of olive oil, basil, oregano, salt, and pepper…

    Stir to combine…

    Cook until mushrooms start to sweat and start to soften…

    Add crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce, stir to combine…

    Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer. Cover, simmer for 20-30 minutes. Taste, adjust seasonings.

    Remove from heat, keep covered.

At this point I needed to go pick up little-bit from daycare. So I left this covered on the stove top and left. This is a great stopping point, if you need to go do other stuff.

Speaking of little-bit… I do need to go pick him up now. So I’ll go ahead and hit publish… and finish this up later tonight, hopefully. 😉

Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Lasagna!… (Part One)…

  1. Pingback: Checking In… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Lasagna Revisited… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

