Pink Flowers, Kale Salad, Hummus, Produce Thursday, Lasagna Pan, & Basil…

Another random post for you, but that’s how I like it… Tell you what, I’ll take pictures of stuff I find interesting, and then I’ll talk about those pictures… hey, that’s what I’ve been doing anyway! 😉

Yesterday, I let little-bit play hookie from daycare… and we hung out together instead. While out on one of our walks I took some pictures… Remember that pink flowering tree (sorry, I still don’t know what it’s called), well the wind has been blowing the petals off and making the sidewalks very pretty…

Later in the day, after we returned from the dog park, I decided to take a quick brisk walk alone… I was gone only 18 minutes. Guess who was barking when I returned… arggg. Anyway, I had a hankering for a kale salad. This one is not much different from my others, but I thought it was so pretty that I snapped a picture.

Kale salad w/ kale (massaged in Udo’s oil), carrots, red & yellow bell peppers, ground flax seed, hemp seeds, chia seeds, nutritional yeast, and sunflower seeds topped with Annie’s Goddess dressing… served with a side of Stacy’s -Simply Naked (nothing but sea salt) — Pita Chips and water. YUM!

When my taste-tester got home, I gave him his serving of kale salad with pita chips… after which he pulled this out of the refrigerator, saying, “While we have the pita chips out… *grin*”

Oh, yea, now that’s some good hummus. This particular brand, Sabra, was new-to-us, but I’ve been reading some good reviews about it on various food blogs… so glad I picked this one up! YUM!
.
.
.
If you’ve been reading my blog long, then you know that I’ve been getting produce delivered to me. Originally weekly, then bi-weekly. Now that I’m tasting freedom again (little-bit at daycare), I can pick up my produce myself more easily. The one thing that drove my desire to try out the delivery was the chance to try out new produce that I would not normally pick up, and to learn what is in season. And while it’s been a great experience, sometimes I just want what I want, you know? One of my complaints is that sometimes I still have to go to the store for ‘connector items’ and then I’m left with random stuff that I have no idea what to do with. So, for now, I’m going to explore the grocery store my old way, picking up items based on a meal I plan to make. At least until the novelty of going to the store so often wears off or the produce box sounds incredibly appealing. 😉 That said… here’s my loot from my grocery adventure today…

    basil
    spinach
    baby portobello mushrooms
    zucchini
    bananas
    breaburn apples
    TX red ruby grapefruit (perfect after a run!)

Hmmm… something specific in mind? Why yes, I’m glad you asked…

Check out this cute lasagna pan…

I already owned an all-edges brownie pan, but decided to get an all-edges lasagna pan… it came in the mail yesterday! 🙂

The lasagna pan is 50% bigger. I’m stoked. I plan to make lasagna tonight! Woohoo!

Oh, and check out Mr. Basil (/ˈbæzəl/)… my new addition to my potted plants. I name all my basil, Basil… think Austin Powers, then you’ll know how I pronounce it. 🙂

He looks a little droopy right now, but he had a long trip from the grocery store to my flower pot… he should perk up soon, I gave him some fresh water. 🙂

In my other pot, I was amazed to find (a few days ago) that there are seedlings! I didn’t plant anything this year… and the plants I planted last year were annuals… I’m excited to see who these seedlings grow up to be…

This same pot last year…

July 31, 2009

Well, I better get to work… I’ve got lasagna on my mind!
~nic

4 thoughts on “Pink Flowers, Kale Salad, Hummus, Produce Thursday, Lasagna Pan, & Basil…

  1. Pingback: Lasagna!… (Part Two)… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Produce Wednesday… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

