Geese, Clouds, Salad, and Soup…

Hi all…

I should be studying, but the class I was intending to take is full… the next one is in May. So I have plenty of time to pre-study to make sure I don’t get stressed out before the exam. 🙂

I feel compelled to upload some pictures from my cameras… so this post is going to be a bit random…

First, I must show you the scenes from my run yesterday morning

Side note: I’ve been seeing squirrels quite a bit lately, but they have just been too quick to photograph or my pictures too blurry to post… but yes, squirrels have been spotted…

Geese, on the other hand, seem quite content to let me photograph them, so I do it willingly. 😉

Here we have a goose that is considering whether I’m taking to long to photograph… maybe he/she should attack?… Soon there should be some cute fuzzyheads around… that’s why I call it fuzzyhead trail ;)…

And check out the sky! (click to make bigger) It was a bit drizzly on my way to take little-bit to daycare, so I wasn’t sure if I’d get to run… but, luckily, it didn’t start raining until I was finished with my run. I thought the clouds looked like they would be soft to lay on… upside-down…

Ok… on with the food…

I made this salad a few days back… using the mangos, strawberries, and lettuce from Produce Wednesday, topped with sunflower seeds and a new (to me) vinaigrette. (Yes, I am aware that there is honey in it.)…

Now for the long portion of today’s post…

I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve tried fennel… fresh fennel, that is. Of course, I’ve used the spice many times. I searched through a fair number of my cookbooks for a dish that used fennel. Fresh fennel has a black-licorice-anise flavor to it, both my taste-tester and I are not fond of black licorice so I knew that the cold salad recipes would just not do… I found several soup recipes. I narrowed it down to three and then let my taste-tester decide which one he’d like to try.

We were both curious about one that used wild rice, but in the end we chose the one that most resembled a potato soup we love. Oddly the fennel soup is from the same author as my favorite potato soup… Mollie Katzen. We decided on Potato-Fennel Soup (The New Moosewood Cookbook by Mollie Katzen, p.29).

I pretty much stuck to the recipe in the book my first time out… my variation on it was to add my je ne sais quoi, it just isn’t my soup without it. I added about 1-1 1/2 tsp. of better than bouillon – vegetable base.

I also decided that this wasn’t quite the soup I was hoping for…

So I blended it up, leaving some chunks of veggies for texture…

I added some of the fennel fronds and checked the seasonings, I ended up adding a pinch more caraway seeds…

Then served it up…

Verdict? Pretty good. I feel I could tweak it up a notch, though… I found another website where the author increased the amount of fennel and caraway… she also didn’t blend her soup but it looks creamier than mine did pre-blend. Something to think about… did I add more water? Yes, I think I did add an extra 1-1 1/2 cup water… oops. All in all, a good soup. And a great way to incorporate fennel into my diet.

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

