Puppy Fun Day & Waffles…

I was going to write a product review post, but instead I think I will show you what I did yesterday!

Yesterday, we went to the National Arboretum… we’ve been several times, and each time we explore a little more… it is a huge place with many beautiful sights to see…

We parked at the National Grove of State Trees area and I took pictures of my favorite tree, redbud… apparently it is the state tree of Oklahoma. I love this tree it is so pretty. In the spring it has these little purple buds and in the fall the leaves look purple.

All over the ground were clovers and little blue and purple flowers…

Where’s waldo? Can you find the bee (click picture to enlarge)? (Answer can be found here)…

We decided to walk through Fern Valley Native Plant Collection… round trip I think we walked a little over a mile (Fern Valley claims that it is a half-mile loop). We walked slowly and took many pictures. Luckily, little-bit was so intrigued by all the smells he didn’t mind the long walk (I’m usually lucky to get him to walk a third of a mile). 🙂

I also saw a cardinal, can you find him (click picture to enlarge)? (Answer can be found here)…

Once we got back in the car we decided to drive around an enjoy all the blooming trees (magnolia, dogwood, cherry blossom). We are hoping to come back again this season to explore another area. These pictures were taken by my taste-tester while I was driving around slowly… amazingly they turned out really well (we were afraid they’d be blurry)…

We had a really nice day. If you are in the D.C. area you should make a point to check out the National Arboretum, their motto seems to be ‘something is always in bloom’.

Today, we’ve been playing it pretty low key. I’ve dubbed today, Spa Day… the puppy got a bath, I colored my hair, and painted my toes. 🙂 I also made waffles…

Waffles II (The Joy of Vegan Baking, p.70)… Rating: Awesome… These waffles were very filling, they are made with oats!

Until next time…
~nic

Leave a Reply

