Fettuccine Alfredo & How To Deseed a Tomato…

I had all these vine-ripe tomatoes and every time I looked at them I thought of alfredo sauce. I know that probably sounds strange since alfredo sauce doesn’t have tomatoes in it, right? Well a few years back, pre-vegan, when I made fettuccine alfredo from a jar, I always wanted something more from the sauce. One day I decided to add in some Italian seasoning and chopped fresh tomatoes, we really liked it, so that became the go-to recipe for fettuccine alfredo.

Now that I’m vegan, I no longer get my alfredo sauce from a jar. I found a great vegan recipe from Katie, which I’ve blogged about before

Ok, now that you know the back story… I had these tomatoes and I decided to make fettuccine alfredo…

I don’t like tomato seeds. The way I see it, they are bitter, slimy, and we don’t digest them anyway… besides I don’t want to be a filter. What I put in my body, I want my body to be able to use. I don’t want to give it extra work with stuff I know it won’t be able to digest. So I deseed my tomatoes.

I thought I’d take pictures during the process and give a little pictorial how-to (which, incidentally, happens to be very similar to how I remove the core of an apple)…

Take rinsed tomato…

Cut in half, then in half again (quartered)…

Remove the core by cutting the quartered piece diagonally…

Take each quarter and remove the seeds by running your finger along the inside of the cavity (pocket sounds better, huh?)…

Then cut each quarter into thirds, turn and then slice into dice sized pieces…

Seeded, diced tomatoes…

For the sauce, follow Katie’s 3-ingredient alfredo sauce recipe. I added several dashes of Italian seasoning and black pepper. I also doubled the recipe…

I had forgotten that the instructions tell you to let the sauce set in the refrigerator for a few hours, then blend with an immersion blender. I was hungry and decided to go ahead and eat it even though the sauce was kinda thin.

Linguine with Katie’s 3-ingredient alfredo sauce topped with nutritional yeast & sesame seed topping and fresh tomatoes…

It was pretty good… but the leftovers were even better. I’ve learned my lesson, Katie. This is the second recipe that I should have listened and waited to eat. What can I say, you know your alternative thickeners! 😉

Once the sauce had time to set it was much thicker. I added a dash of garlic powder and blended the now congealed sauce with an immersion blender. It looked like alfredo sauce now…

Katie’s 3-ingredient alfredo sauce w/ added Italian seasoning, black pepper, and garlic powder, topped with nutritional yeast & sesame seed topping and fresh tomatoes…
Rating: Awesome!

Enjoy!…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Fettuccine Alfredo & How To Deseed a Tomato…

  1. Pingback: I Call It ‘Italian Stir-fry’, But You Can Call It ‘Pasta Primavera’… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  2. Pingback: Clean-up Night X 2… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: A Neat Idea For Broccoli Slaw… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

