Running, Rain, Raw Food, Reducing & Recycling…

It’s been sunny and beautiful around here lately… temps in the upper 60s/ lower 70s… I went for a run on Friday… my first run not on the treadmill since mid-Jan. I had read that you should take it easy when transitioning back to running outside… and I agree that it was harder without ‘the assistance of the treadmill pulling my legs backward’. So I was surprised by my time and mileage. I’m thinking I must have made an error. I measured my distance with this, but I found a flaw. If I measure the distance using the manual option, I get 1.95 miles… but if I use the runner’s option, I get 2.02 miles… only a difference of 0.07 miles, I know… but it’s a difference in the average run speed of 4.06 mph vs. 4.20 mph… big difference. Considering that my last average run speed was 3.84 mph, it is still a great difference between my last run and this run. I measured the amount of time I ran by subtracting how much time was left in the couch-to-5k audio from the total audio time. If those calculations are correct, then I guess that on the treadmill I run fast but then sometimes have to slow waaay down on the walking bits, whereas outside I walked brisker and ran slower? I’m not really sure how/why my time went way up… but hey, it just means I’m getting better… stronger… cool. 🙂

Over the weekend, we took little-bit to a people park (as opposed to a dog park 😉 ), where dogs are allowed, he enjoyed all the smells… we enjoyed the leisurely stroll along the waterfront. We didn’t take any pictures, but trust me, it was beautiful.

It was nice getting a glimpse of spring, but today we are back to cooler weather and rain. But I’m not upset, it’s the snuggy, tea-drinking, reflecting type of rain. We should see the sun again on Wednesday. I hope to get out for another outside run then.
[source]

Speaking of Wednesday… I’ve canceled this week’s Produce Wednesday delivery. Since my taste-tester is in class this week, and unable to get to a microwave, I decided it was better to go to the grocery store and get specific items that I knew I could use to prepare his lunch in a more raw-food sort of way… sorry no pictures… I got baby spinach, strawberries, blueberries, breaburn apples, navel oranges, bananas, kale, and bell peppers.

Today his ‘raw’ lunch is:

  • spinach-strawberry-blueberry salad w/ balsamic vinaigrette and pecans
  • baby carrots
  • oat/protein bar (with pecans, coconut butter, and dried fruits – raisins, cranberries, and apples)
  • apple
  • banana
  • bread (2 slices) – not raw 😛
  • thermos of tea – not raw
  • thermos of water

I plan to make some fun balls today to add to his future lunches. For dinner tonight, I plan to make something using grains, perhaps bulgur? I mentioned earlier that I’m spring cleaning my kitchen pantry, refrigerator, and freezer… well I’m also spring cleaning my whole house…

In an attempt to reduce/recycle our stuff around here, with the notion that we should use it or give it to someone who will. This past week I went through my bathroom linen closet which contains towels, sheets, and dog supplies. I thinned out the dog supplies, since I only have one dog now… I took the ‘extra’ dog stuff (leashes, etc.) out to the dog park with a note saying, “Please take these items if you have a use for them”, last time I checked most of the stuff had been taken. 🙂

Yesterday we did a preliminary weeding of our closet… there is clothing in your closet that no matter how many times you put it on, you immediately take it off, because of the color, fit, style, whatever… then you put it back in your closet as if next time you’ll like it, right? Well, we went through that stuff and tried it on again, and then made a decision, should it stay or should it go? Then we took the ‘go’ items to a clothing donation bin in town. It feels good to lessen our load while hopefully helping others. I plan to do that throughout the entire house. I know there is stuff around here that I’ve been hanging on to for no real reason except guilt, that I’ll never use, but I feel that someone else might use. That stuff will be donated.

Do you spring clean? Do you donate the stuff you don’t use?

While it feels awesome to lessen our load, I think I’ve stirred up dust. I have been sneezy mc sneezy for days now, itchy eyes, runny nose… bah. I don’t know if it’s stirred up dust, a sudden allergy to flowering trees (hope not!), or an oncoming cold. Whatever it is, I’m still going to clean up and thin out around here, it feels too good to stop. 🙂

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Running, Rain, Raw Food, Reducing & Recycling…

  1. Pingback: TGIS… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

