Chocolate Mousse & Spring Cleaning…

I’ve spent the past few days soaking up some quality time with my ‘taste-tester’. As I mentioned, he had to work on Saturday… so he had Sun and Mon as his weekend. We talked a lot and went on a few strolls with ‘little-bit’, good times.

I made stir-fry on Saturday, but I didn’t take any pictures… it was similar to the mango stir-fry I made before, except I used different produce. Let see, I think I used a leek, carrots and tops, bell peppers, celery, broccoli, lime, mango… I guess I should have taken pictures… oh well it was really good. It made 4 servings, I put it over a bed of brown jasmine rice… the first night I topped it with peanuts, the second night I topped it with cashews. To be honest, my soups and stir-frys are a method, and I use produce I have on hand that I think will go well together. Mangos and lime are good together, fyi. šŸ˜‰

I did manage to take a picture of dessert though! I made chocolate mousse… but this is not your ordinary take forever to cook mousse, oh no, in fact this mousse is RAW. I made something very similar this past summer (before I started my blog) when I was trying out various raw foods. We had one too many raw soups that we didn’t like, and had to pull back from that road for a bit. I think I went too fast. Anyway, I saw this chocolate mousse on Averie’s blog recently and it reminded me that I did like this raw dessert. The thing that Averie does that really made this taste better, to me, was putting it in the freezer for a few hours. It really changes the flavor to be COLD… kinda like how ice cream is better cold. You can find Averie’s Chocolate Mousse recipe here. I also liked using agave instead of dates, it made it so much smoother. It really is amazing how versatile avocados are! I love my guacamole, but oh yea chocolate has my heart.

I used 2 avocados, agave, cocoa powder, and a splash of vanilla. It made 4 servings this size (about 1 cup)… all of which we consumed that evening. This is a guilt-free reckless abandon dessert. šŸ™‚ Avocados are full of the ‘good’ fat and are high in fiber… check out these stats:

[source]

I didn’t take too many pictures these past few days, apparently, but I did try to take a picture of a lady bug for my ‘find the beauty/interesting’ series, but it didn’t come out very clear. I think he/she is a sign that spring is on it’s way.

Speaking of spring…

I’ve decided to clean out my pantry, freezer, dried fruit/nut drawers… I plan to limit my purchases of dry goods and use up what I’ve got in my stash. Some of that stuff has been in there so long, I don’t really even know what I have. Of course I will still be getting plenty of fresh produce, I’ll need it. I see many days of beans and grains in my future… a salad and some fresh fruit will be welcome!

Today on my cooking agenda:

and if I have time…

Looks like I’d better get busy!

Oh, before I forget… tomorrow is Produce Wednesday… there will be strawberries! Yippee! šŸ™‚

Until next time…
~nic

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse & Spring Cleaning…

  1. Oh my, that chocolate mousse looks like frosting! I think my ripening avocados are destined for dessert! šŸ™‚ -Eve

  2. Hi Nic thanks for making this! I saw it come up in my reader and then your comments to me…you’re the best!
    Thanks for linking it and crediting me…muah!

    And yes, agave not dates. It gives it that uber smooth texture. You could also add mint extract or any other extract,i.e. banana, coffee, etc if you’re feeling adventurous.

    Or it freezes beautifully into a ridic dense almost ice-cream like confection. Anything from 1 to 7 days is what I have done with it and it’s been great for us.

    xoxo
    p.s. San Diego. Forgot to respond to that. Yes, we miss it dearly and we are trying to get outta here asap! And re your comment to me. Wow. that would be a big change!!!

  3. Pingback: Running, Rain, Raw Food, Reducing & Recycling… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

