Lemon Bars…

Today the sun is shining, the birds are singing, and the temperatures are warmer (currently 41°F, but today’s high is 51°F). I have successfully turned my day around (waking at 8am instead of going to sleep at 5am), I was showered and ready to start my day around 9am! Woohoo! I think it is safe to say that I am a morning person. I feel light and happy, I seem to have infinite patience, I finally feel like I’ve gotten enough sleep and best of all my sailor-mouth is in check. The only kink in the day is that my ‘taste-tester’ has to work on this Saturday (the reason why our day has been turned around), he had to be at the office by 9am. So it’s just me and ‘little-bit’ enjoying the sunny but chilly day…

While on a little stroll with ‘little-bit’ this morning, I was trying to ‘find the beauty/interesting’ to take a picture of, I couldn’t quite find something to capture my better mood. But then I heard the sound of several birds happily chirping… yes, that’s how I’m feeling. So, I took a few pictures of the birds. πŸ™‚

Thursday, I popped into whole foods to pick up some supplies and noticed these huge butternut squash… so since I did not post yesterday…
‘find the interesting’:

‘find the beauty’: I love to look at the sky, day or night…

Ok, I’ve teased you long enough, you came here for the lemon bars, right?

Late into the night I made lemon bars with meyer lemons… Everything came together quite nicely (you will find the recipe ingredients halved here). I put the bars in the fridge and for dinner the following day I took them out…

Very nice… now, I must confess that I am hands down a cake person. Love, love, love cake. Cookies take second place. Pie has always been far down on my list of desserts I crave…. my ‘taste-tester’ on the other hand, tends to talk about lemon meringue and key lime pies… I’ve finally been able to appease his cravings. I had two pieces of the lemon bars, he ate the rest…. that night! Yeah, we practice reckless abandon in moderation. πŸ˜‰

I asked him if he thought the meyer lemons contributed to the sweetness of the lemon goo… he said he’d have to try them with regular lemons. Translation: ‘they were really good, please make them again… sure regular lemons would be fine…’ I think I have a winner here. πŸ˜‰

I really liked the crust, it was slightly sweet and flaky, I will have to remember this for later, like for pumpkin pies. One caveat, though, the crust really wanted to stick to the pan… the bars came out much better when the crust was closer to room temperature.

Lemon Bars (vegan cookies invade your cookie jar, p.141) Rating: Very Good

Question: Are you a cake or pie (or cookie, or ice cream) person? I am definitely a cake person, preferably chocolate cake!

Until next time…
~nic

10 thoughts on “Lemon Bars…

  1. I am equal opportunity to all of those goodies πŸ™‚ But if I had to choose–I love cheesecake. No matter how full I am or ill I feel, I will never turn down cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

