When Sunday Feels Like A Monday…

Today has been weird… all day I had to keep reminding myself that it was Sunday not Monday. It sure had the characteristics of a Monday. My ‘taste-tester’ had to go in to work, so that probably helped with the strangeness. But it was more than that. My whole day, I was ever so slightly off. Things took longer than I had anticipated.

I had in mind making a lasagna, the first one I’ve made since becoming a vegan, and some lemon cupcakes. I figured it would take me about 2 hours, 2.5 hours tops. Uh… I started cooking around 4pm and the lasagna is just now ready to eat… at midnight. And even though I haven’t had much to eat today, I am not hungry. It’s just been that kind of day. 😕

I think my biggest problem was multitasking. I cooked up the lasagna noodles and then took ‘little-bit’ for a walk that ended up taking around 45 minutes. It was a good walk and much needed for both of us, but unfortunately, those lasagna noodles had decided that they wanted to stick together and make a giant mess. But I didn’t really notice the noodles until after I had made the cupcake batter and had put the cupcakes in the oven. Then I knew that the lasagna was going to be fun. I really don’t understand where the time went. Honestly, everything should not have taken very long at all. But some how I took some eight hours to make dinner and dessert… I did take the dog out for that long walk and then another short walk later… and I did take a very short break between the cupcakes and the lasagna to clear my mind…. but seriously, eight hours?

The saving grace is that the cupcakes turned out pretty good. The texture is not exactly as I had hoped, but they are good. I’m thinking that they don’t even need frosting. They are rich and lightly lemon. I had some issues with the macadamia nuts… they don’t grind very well since they are so fatty. If I make this recipe again, I think I will grind the nuts with the flour in the hopes that the flour will help make the nuts a bit drier. But over all, still a tasty treat. Oh, and I didn’t realize when I ordered the silicone cupcake cups (back when I ordered all that other stuff from King Arthur Flour) that they came in sets of 6 not 12, so I only have 6.

I tasted all the separate parts of the lasagna, so I think it will be good combined. But due to the shredding of the lasagna noodles to get them to come apart, it definitely won’t be stable, or pretty. Who cares though, if it tastes good?

I was having so many issues that ‘pictures during the process’ were out of the question, so I only have a final picture. I also won’t be posting all the specifics of the recipe, because I was just making it up as I went along. But the layers went something like this (starting from the bottom layer):

  • red sauce – Newman’s Own Sockarooni
  • noodles
  • cannellini beans – smashed with added Italian seasoning and pepper
  • red sauce
  • noodles
  • raw baby spinach – 5 oz container
  • béchamel sauce – earth balance, Italian seasoning, salt & pepper, flour, silk, and some leftover creamy nutritional yeast sauce from the book thrive
  • mushrooms – sauteed in olive oil w/ Italian seasoning, salt & pepper
  • noodles
  • béchamel sauce
  • noodles
  • red sauce

Something like that… it smells good. My ‘taste-tester’ is on his way home… perhaps we will taste it before we go to bed. It sure is late though.

Anyway, tomorrow is another day, well actually tomorrow is today, so now Sunday is a Monday.
~nic

March 1, 2010…1:36 AM

Update… We tried the lasagna… it’s really good. 🙂

9 thoughts on “When Sunday Feels Like A Monday…

  1. That lasagna looks AMAZING! It is packed with so many of my favorite things, and it looks like all the layers are so clear and defined. YUM! I might have to make some soon.

    And those cupcakes are just too cute, love those silicone holders!

  2. Pingback: truths i learned on my meyer lemon challenge… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Lasagna!… (Part One)… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

