Oh Giant Salads, I’ve Missed You!…

I was secretly hoping that if I held out long enough that the snow in front of my garage would eventually be ploughed away… I only had to wait a week.

I’ll admit that I’ve been feeling a bit like a caged animal. The mere idea of not being able to go anywhere tends to make me have cabin fever, even if I had no plans to leave. So you can just imagine how stir-crazy I’ve been, snowed-in for a week. Sometime last evening the snow-plough must have come, because when I took ‘little-bit’ for his late evening walk, I noticed that the garages were finally freed from 3-feet of snow.

I suddenly felt silly and giddy and started playing with the snow. My ‘taste-tester’ inquired why I hadn’t started a snowball fight earlier, and it dawned on me that I’d been a bit stressed knowing that I was trapped and unable to go anywhere. It occurred to me sometime during the week that I was unable to get to the vet if I needed to, unable to drive anywhere really, so if we had an emergency we would have to rely on getting a taxi or an ambulance, depending upon the situation. Luckily, we all remained in good health, so it was never an issue. But I worry about that kind of stuff. I’m a worrier. Mind you, I’m also lazy, because I clearly didn’t go out and find a way to remove that snow myself. 😛

Anyway, the first chance I got to leave was this afternoon, I went to whole foods (wf) to get my produce fix. I might have gone a bit crazy in the produce section, but I’ve been feeling the crunch of rationing and I really wanted to make some huge salads, and green lemonade, and green smoothies, and, and…. you get the point.

I am a kale and banana addict and I’m not ashamed!

Want to hear something absolutely crazy? (Crazy seems to be the word of the day.) The forecast says that we are going to get more snow on Monday, 3-7 inches more. So you can see why I was feeling the need to stock up on more produce right!?

So you may be asking, did I get a snow shovel while I was out? And that would be a valid question… I ran into a dog park friend earlier, before I set out for wf, and she offered to get me a snow shovel while she was out getting herself one. I said, sure! So I will have a snow shovel soon, if there are any left in the stores, that is. 😉

You may also be wondering about my ‘taste-tester’, he too has been trapped by the snowstorm, doing some work from home. In all likelihood, he will be putting in some long hours the rest of the month to make up for this week. Poo. Oh well, I sure enjoyed having him around this week, hopefully I didn’t drive him crazy with my cabin fever. 😉

So, I’ve been rationing out the greens this past week, figuring it was a lot like exercise… it’s better to get a little bit each day rather than one big dose on one day and nothing for the rest of the week… right? We were getting pretty low on greens around here. First, all the kale was consumed in one last salad… then all the romaine was consumed for the green lemonade-take 4… all we had left for the majority of the week was a fairly big container of spinach… we joked about whether my ‘taste-tester’ was spinach-worthy. Well, I joked, he wasn’t sure if I was serious or not. 😀

I found some very interesting ways to incorporate a bit of spinach into our dinners… from being put on veggie burgers

to becoming the base for a taco salad that we shared (served w/ blue corn chips not pictured)… [bean mixture]

But today, I finally got to have what I’ve been craving for nearly a week… a giant salad… behold, the last of my rationed spinach mixed with my fresh purchase of mixed greens, the last of my rationed carrots, and the last of my rationed bell peppers… also included are hemp seeds, sunflower seeds, ground flax seed, and Averie’s dressing… oh.so.heavenly…

And no, I did not share this one, it was MINE, ALL MINE! 😀

I never in my wildest dreams thought I’d not only love salads, but crave them and pine after them when I’m snowed in… I guess we all change over the years… I like where this is headed, ‘Hello, Healthy!’

Speaking of healthy, while I was at wf, I also picked up some Thrive-inspired items, hemp oil, flaxseed oil, acai powder and chlorella… I’ll let you know what I think of these items as I incorporate them into my life.

Oh and before I forget… check out my guest mini post over at meals and moves… once I submitted my post to Janetha, I was craving my ‘meal’… so I made a version 2.0, I’ll probably post it tomorrow! Go check it out! 🙂

For now, I think I’m going to get back to my reading…
Until next time…
~nic

5 thoughts on “Oh Giant Salads, I’ve Missed You!…

  1. Thank you so much for the comment on my blog and for taking the time to give me all those cookbook reccomendations, that is so nice of you, you are a sweetheart!!!

    I heard alot of good things about Veganmicon, I think im going to get that, the sushi recipe in there you mentioned might of helped my decision : )

    I love big salads, I eat huge salads for dinner alot!!!

    Happy Valentines Day and I hope we dont get more snow Monday, I am so sick of it : p

Leave a Reply

