Green Lemonade Takes 3 & 4…

You may recall that I’ve been tinkering with green lemonade and like all recipes, you eventually make it your own by incorporating your tastes… add a bit of this, subtract a bit of that…

A few things occurred to me as I tinkered around with this recipe…

  1. Spinach doesn’t seem to really give much juice and when looking at the pulp I feel like I’ve wasted the spinach.
  2. The kale stems that I would usually throw out, are full of vital nutritious liquid that would do great in the juicer.
  3. Ditto on parsley stems and carrot green stems.
  4. I really enjoyed the mango/apple juice, perhaps I can add mango to the mix for added sweetness.
  5. There is nothing wrong with adding a bit of water and agave to get the taste ‘just right’.
  6. You can use less lemon and still get the full flavor if you leave the rind on when juicing.

My 3rd and 4th attempts at green lemonade were very successful, and I will be continuing to enjoy this refreshing green drink often…

Here’s what I did…

Green Lemonade Take 3

serves: 2
Rating: Very Good

    4 leaves of romaine
    1/2 seedless cucumber
    1 mango, peeled
    1 apple
    2-3 kale stems
    1/8 lemon with peel
    small knob of ginger

    1-2 squirts agave nectar
    >1/2 cup cold water
  • juice romaine, cucumber, mango, apple, kale stems, lemon, and ginger
  • add water and agave to juice, mix then pour into glasses
  • enjoy!

I don’t know if I’m getting used to the greens or if maybe the apple and/or mango was sweeter this time, but I didn’t need as much agave for take 4 to feel like it was sweet enough…

Green Lemonade Take 4

serves: 2
Rating: Very Good

    1/2 head of romaine
    1/2 seedless cucumber
    1 mango, peeled
    1 apple
    2-3 kale stems
    few stems of parsley and/or carrot greens
    1/8 lemon with peel
    small knob of ginger

    1 squirt agave nectar
    >1/2 cup cold water
  • juice romaine, cucumber, mango, apple, kale stems, lemon, and ginger
  • add water and agave to juice, mix then pour into glasses
  • enjoy!




* A note about pulp:

I am in the camp of ‘pulp doesn’t have much left in it’ seeing as how you’ve just gotten all the nutrients out of it by juicing. The reason for juicing such nutritious produce is to get the nutrients out in liquid form, so that you can give your digestive system a break, hence the fiber has been removed. When I want fiber and nutrients, I will either make a green smoothie or a salad.

That being said, for the sake of science, I attempted to make pulp crackers… Since my pulp had sweet items in it like apple and mango, I decided to make sweet-ish crackers. I took the pulp and 3/4 cup of water and processed it in a food processor. Then I added 1/2 cup ground flax seed, 1/2 cup ground almonds, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and a pinch of salt. Raw, the pulp concoction wasn’t bad, but also nothing to write home about.

In order to make crackers without a dehydrator, I had to employ my oven. My oven doesn’t like to be lower than 350°F. So I spread out the pulp mixture in a thin layer on a parchment lined cookie sheet and proceeded to bake it checking on it every 5-10 minutes. After 40 minutes, I pulled them out and let them cool. The under sides remained moist while the tops were kinda dried. So I attempted to cook them further on a pizza peel to ungoo the undersides… I baked them an additional 15 minutes. They tasted like weird kale chips, and not even that tasty. The heat changed the flavor of the greens allowing them to over power the fruit and cinnamon, but there was still a touch of mango taste. We decided to rate them meh. It was a lot of work for something I would have discarded anyway.

So for me, I will not lament the pulp any more than I lament the core of an apple, the peel of a carrot, or the seeds of a tomato.

Until next time…
~nic

One thought on “Green Lemonade Takes 3 & 4…

  1. Hello!!!

    I saw your post at meals and moves and loved it!! I want to say that I think its awesome that you are vegan, good for you girl!! I enjoyed looking at al your favorite products you use!! I love PB&Co DCD peanutbutter!! The best!!!

    I live in Alexandria, Va, so Im close to DC, just moved here last June!! Have a great night!!

Leave a Reply

