Snow, Snow, and More Snow!…

I think it is safe to say that we definitely got snow in the 18-24 inch range! This morning when I took ‘little-bit’ for a walk, several of his friends where in the snow-filled street playing. It was a makeshift dog park in the middle of the road! The snow was piled high all around us, but the road was somewhat cleared away, he played while I talked to the other dog owners for a good 20-30 minutes, no cars passed. I had my camera, but for some reason I guess I forgot I had it, because there would have been some really cute pictures I’m sure!

I did manage to take some pictures early in the snow storm, aka Friday, and then some more this morning before the makeshift playground. I took a ton of pictures, but have pared it down to 33, which is still a bit obnoxious, so I’m still deciding as I write this, hope I don’t bore the crap out of you! šŸ™‚

My ‘taste-tester’ and I took a little walk around the complex this evening, around 9 pm, without ‘little-bit’ so that we could see more in a shorter amount of time, plus his little paws can’t take that much cold, as we’ve already witnessed – side note, he didn’t seem to mind the cold at all while playing with his friends, how interesting šŸ˜‰ Ok, Ok, it was snow more than ice this morning, so it probably didn’t hurt like ice would.

Anyway, we took a little walk and I wish that I had taken my camera, not really sure any of the pictures would have turned out at that late hour, but there were definitely some picture worthy shots out there. Some of the trees have so much snow on their branches that it looks like they are trying to eat the cars. Unfortunately, it looks like some of the trees’ branches actually snapped and broke and are sitting on top of the cars, so I guess those cars did get eaten. Not sure of the damage because the cars are also highly covered with snow, but I imagine there will be a few calls to insurance companies on this snow storm. We also looked down our street, and it is hardly cleaned off, really, I don’t think many people got anywhere today. My hope is to get up early tomorrow and try to capture some of these sights when the lighting is better, *fingers-crossed* that I’ll actually get up early. šŸ˜‰

Let’s get to those pictures shall we? These pictures were taken over a range of 24 hours (5pm Friday to 5pm Saturday)…

Top 5

The cutest one first, ‘little-bit’ with some snow on his nose. šŸ™‚

I really like this one because it shows the pile up of snow on the stair’s banister, visually it just talks to me…

This is a good one, it shows that the cars really can’t go anywhere even if you manage to shovel your car out from under the snow, the street is still pretty covered…

Most of the apartment complex looks like this, just enough of a tunnel burrowed out to get from one building to another…

My ‘taste-tester’s favorite, the avalanche just waiting to happen…

Some Comparison Shots

The infamous bench… pay close attention to those green lights as they slowly get buried and the amount of space below the bench… (click on the picture to see it bigger)

Heavy Branches

Ok, last two… I thought these really captured the heavy snow on the branches as well as the covered cars… (click on the picture to see it bigger)

Did you get any snow in your neck of the woods?
Until next time…
~nic

3 thoughts on “Snow, Snow, and More Snow!…

  1. Would you believe that Ontario, Canada has gotten virtually zero snow? We had about a weeks worth of snow in December, but since then? Zilch. Nada. People keep talking about how it’s super unusual – most winters they’re up to their waists in snow! It’s my first (and last!) year here, and I wanted a super snowy winter, so I’m living vicariously through your photos. ‘Little-bit’ is adorable! šŸ™‚ -Eve

    • Eve – I’ve lived here 4 years and this is the most snow I’ve seen. We had 16-18 inches of snow in December, then last weekend it snowed a bit, then this weekend 18-24 inches… it is supposed to snow on Tuesday and Wednesday (1-3 inches)… it’s crazy! šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Autumn Inspired Salad… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

