Kitchen Gadgets, Part 1…

If you are curious, I feel like I’m on the mend after wrenching my back on Sunday. I have no delusions that I’ll be running this week, but I may be able to do restorative yoga soon. I took ‘little-bit’ for a leisurely meander this morning and felt a bit of fatigue in my back, but not serious pain, so I made some juice (see below) and then took a nap. It’s not very easy to twist, so I try to avoid it.

My home remedies have been plenty of bed rest with a pillow under my knees (yesterday, I added a heating pad under my back, while I napped, it helped tremendously). I’ve also been having a green smoothie and a salad daily. I’ve been reading Thrive by Brendan Brazier lately and I really like his ideas about nutrition and speedy recovering from stress (whether the stress is from life or exercise) by eating more whole-foods and less processed foods. I’m still on chapter two (although, I’ve flipped ahead a bit) so I’m still learning and incorporating his ideas. I’ve been trying to make sure I get a green smoothie, a salad, and a piece of fruit (that I actually chew on) each day. It’s easy for me to think, “oh, I’ve gotten my veggies today because I’ve had veggie soup, or whatever…” but then I tend to ‘fill up’ on bread, cereal, or other processed foods. And as much as I love fruit, somehow I don’t usually go for a piece of fruit when I want a snack. So for me, this transition is important.

This past week I’ve been making a green smoothie first thing, well, right after my cup of green tea. Then midday, I have a salad. I’ve been eating the piece of fruit at the end of the day, rather than going for chocolate or cereal for a snack.

In the interest of trying to incorporate more fruits and veggies into my day, I’ve recently purchased a Breville juicer… my first juice attempt was apples and mangos… at first I did 1 apple and 1/2 a mango… I really liked it, so I made it again and set it aside for my ‘taste-tester’… he liked it too.

My second juice was just straight apples… I liked how sweet the apples were all by themselves, I shared this with my ‘taste-tester’ as well… he liked it too.

Some time passed and I didn’t really know what to make… I came across this combination (green lemonade) at mama’s weeds and thought I’d give it a try… I used 1/2 a lemon, a breaburn apple, 4 leaves of romaine, a handful of spinach, a small knob of ginger, and 1/2 a seedless cucumber…

At first blush, it was very lemon-y pucker-y…

So I added another breaburn apple…

Better, but still pretty lemon-y and ginger-y. I topped off the glass with some cold water from the fridge. I sipped on it while I cleaned up the juicer and I saved a bit of this green lemonade for my ‘taste-tester’…

Of course, I had to label it and put it right in front of the soymilk so that he’d see it when he went to make a bowl of cereal. 😉

I could taste the back notes of cucumber, it was an interesting drink, and as I sipped on it, I liked it more. I think next time, I’ll use 1/4 lemon and a smaller knob of ginger. Overall, though, I liked it, I think it just needs some more tweaking on my part to give it a higher rating. I think I am just use to really sweet lemonade and this was very lemon lemonade, which is how it should be. As with the green smoothies, it takes time to acclimate to the greens, but I know it won’t take long before this becomes a favorite of mine. 🙂 As I write about the lemonade, I’m craving it, so there you go, that’s a good sign. As for my ‘taste-tester’ he requested less ginger. I don’t think I gave him enough to really appreciate the flavors over time like I did… so I’ll have to make a bigger batch next time.

I ordered The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose, it should be here Thursday, I think it will help me make better juicing decisions. As well as teach me about food combining and incorporating more raw foods into my life… I’m looking forward to all the changes I’m making towards a more whole-food way of eating and to rid myself of cravings for processed foods.

I want to thank Alison, from mama’s weeds for her book reviews and blog postings pertaining to her journey after reading Thrive and The Raw Food Detox Diet. 🙂 It was her blogs that encouraged me to buy and read Thrive (and to buy The Raw Food Detox Diet), and it was her recipe that I tried for the green lemonade. Thanks, Alison!

Until next time…
~nic

10 thoughts on “Kitchen Gadgets, Part 1…

  1. we have the same juicer! well, mine is all stainless but the motor i think is the same. it doesnt matter. what matters is that i dont juice hardly at all b/c i hate cleanup but the pulp rocks and i can make crackers so i really need to get back into it 🙂 enjoy yours and LMK if you find tricks for fast pulp cleanup!

    • Averie – I didn’t really know what to do with the pulp, I’ll have to make crackers next time… I found a recipe at Kristen’s raw.

      I don’t have any tricks for clean-up other than doing it right away like I do with my vitamix, and using the little brush on the mesh blade is a must. For both the juicer and the vitamix, I clean-up while sipping my new creation, it seems to work well for me. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Gadgets, Parts 2 & 3, Green Lemonade Update, and an Epiphany… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Week 1, Day 8 (Couch to 5k)… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: Snowed In Eats… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  5. Pingback: Kitchen Gadgets, Part 4… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  6. Pingback: Green Lemonade Takes 3 & 4… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

