Green Smoothie with Almond Mylk & Trail Pictures…

I’ve been trying out various green smoothies, some with success… some not so much. Today was a good one…



I located the green smoothie that Alison over at Mama’s Weeds drinks, it contains almond milk, something I don’t have on hand, but I do have almonds!


So I turned to Ani Phyo to make some Vanilla Almond Mylk from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen (p.55) (*sidenote: I used only 1/2 a vanilla bean)…

It made about 40 oz, just perfect for my two little 20 oz containers…

The processing of the mylk (and perhaps because I used filtered tap water rather than cold water from the fridge) made the mylk a bit warm, so when I made the green smoothie with slightly warm mylk, and a room-temp banana it wasn’t as cold as I like… so I chilled it in the freezer for about a half hour. Also I made mine with kale – because I didn’t have spinach. πŸ™‚

Anyway, the verdict? The mylk was really good! I’m still figuring out my vita-mix so I processed the dry goods with just a bit of water and then blended, slowly adding more water… probably why the mylk turned out slightly warm – but that’s better than bits of almonds in my mylk… no worries, though, because I see warm/hot chocolate mylk in my future! πŸ˜‰ The Almond Mylk was also a great way to use up my Deglet Noor dates, since I prefer Medjool dates in my ‘fun balls’

The green smoothie was also very good… it occurred to me that since the smoothie has ground flax seed – an item used in eggless baking – that it added a thickness to the smoothie that was really nice. The flax seed has a slightly nutty flavor, so mixed with the banana it made me think ever so slightly of banana bread… nice. I bet if I added a bit less liquid I could have a green pudding that tasted like banana bread…. Mmmmm.


But let’s get to those photos…

I’ve been wanting to post these photos I took of the trail with ‘little-bit’ last week for some time now, I guess you could say a week or two, huh? This morning when I woke, the windchill was 7°F… it has warmed up a bit to windchill 16°F… when I took these photos it was in the 50’s… what a strange winter we are having!

Anyway, the day I took these, there were these two squirrels that I was harrassing… by taking a ton of pictures, I’m sure they were not sad to see me leave. πŸ˜› Remember I had this little guy with me…

I’m sure I looked like a one-eyed predator (camera up to face) that kept staring at them and just wouldn’t leave. πŸ™‚ I kid you not, I took about 60 pictures of these squirrels (mostly just the one) trying to make sure I got a good picture… I still ended up having to manipulate the pictures so that you could find the squirrel… they just didn’t want their picture taken.

i.e. Where’s waldo?…

Oh, there he is…

Can you find the squirrels?…

Hey lady, when are you going to leave?…

No, really?…

Look, I’ll pose if you go away!…

All these pictures were taken within an hour, my, how the sun sets quickly…

Also near the end of the hour there seemed to be a storm brewing… it all made for lovely pictures, though…

The moon was out, I thought it looked neat…

All in all, it was a lovely walk… I know this little guy had a great time… Such concentration! I think some dogs were in the distance that he wanted to say ‘hi’ to… I hope I look this good when I’m in my nineties!…


I also want to mention that I am slowly working on adding/updating to my Recipe page, I’ve added up thru October recipes so far, check it out… until next time…
~nic

6 thoughts on “Green Smoothie with Almond Mylk & Trail Pictures…

  1. LOVE the Ani recipe…whats too ironic is that just last night about midnight I was trying to research my cookbooks for things I dont normally make but would like to try…I cracked open Ani’s book and say her Mylks. Too ironic! YUM!!!!

  2. Pingback: Week 1, Day 8 (Couch to 5k)… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Oh Giant Salads, I’ve Missed You!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  4. Pingback: Kitchen Gadgets, Part 4… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  5. Pingback: Way Better Than Fruit Cake!… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

