Produce Wednesday and a New Food…


Today’s organic bounty:

    huckleberry and purple potatoes
    purple top turnip
    broccoli
    navel oranges
    d’anjou pears
    granny smith apples
    bananas
    mangoes
    green kale
    white mushrooms
    roma tomatoes
    romaine lettuce
    * medjool dates

* special order

I didn’t make any changes to my order today, except to special order some medjool dates…

Holy *gasp*! Look at that turnip! Wow, that’s huge! Haha! Huckleberry potatoes? Sounds intriguing. πŸ™‚ And of course, my special order of medjool dates, so that I can make ‘fun balls’. πŸ˜€

Usually my ‘new foods’ showcases products I’ve found recently in the store that are (preferably) vegan, but this week, I wanted to mention a new food that I made using someone else’s recipe…

Enter, Averie’s Maple Ginger Dijon Vinaigrette… this stuff is AWESOME! You may recall that in previous product reviews I’ve been trying to find a salad dressing for the more gentle lettuces – I say gentle because they aren’t as strong-flavored as kale. You may also recall that I don’t feel I make good home-made dressings… but that has changed! Averie’s vinaigrette was easy to do and tastes great! I sent a salad with some of this vinaigrette (on the side) in my ‘taste-tester’s lunch, and he loves it too! πŸ™‚ As I told Averie on her blog… “I like how the sweetness of the maple plays well with the boldness of the acv [apple cider vinegar] and dijon, while you get just a slight kick from the pepper, awesome!” – and I mean it too! I just ate a salad with this dressing on it and am still blown away by it’s awesomeness. (*side note: I didn’t add any of the optional items)
Rating: Awesome!

I used about 1 Tbsp. of the vinaigrette on this salad of romaine lettuce (4-5 leaves), roma tomato, orange bell pepper (~1/4), and sunflower seeds… I thought the sunflower seeds were a nice touch since Averie was the one who introduced me to sunflower seed butter… πŸ˜‰

I’m going to make today’s post short, I’ve got a ton of things to do and it’s getting late… until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Produce Wednesday and a New Food…

  1. Hi Nic!!
    Thanks for the glowing reports on the salad dressing!! Woo hooo glad you’re enjoying it and of course sunflower seed butter has a spesh place in my heart, too πŸ™‚ Yum!

    Love your comments the past few posts of mine, too πŸ™‚

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

