Navy Bean and Winter Squash Soup with Sage Bread Crumbs…

So I had this huge butternut squash, about 3 lbs… and I was thinking of soup. I searched for butternut squash in my newish copy of Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen (I’ve made two other recipes from this book with great success, this one and this one). I ended up making so many changes that I think it’s safe to say that the recipe was an inspiration. For example, I exchanged ingredients out for ones that were in the same family… cabbage–>cauliflower, turnip–>carrot (technically not the same family but both root veggies)… then I used canned beans instead of dried, and I used dried herbs instead of fresh… you get the idea…

As a side note, the bread crumbs are not necessary, but they add a whole new level to the soup… they don’t take much time to prepare and make the soup even better. I had a slice of store-bought wheat/flaxseed bread and some home-made day-old pumpernickel bread that I used for my bread crumbs.

Also my canned beans are Eden which contain kombu seaweed instead of salt, and as I’ve mentioned before seaweed is a great source of B vitamins.

Navy Bean and Winter Squash Soup with Sage Bread Crumbs
greatly inspired by Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen (p.71)

Rating: Awesome

Serves 6-8

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • ~3 lbs butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cubed
  • 2 small carrots, peeled and sliced (with greens, if available)
  • 1/2 head cauliflower, cut into bit-size florets
  • 2 Tbsp. parsley, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. better than bouillon vegetable base
  • 5-6 cups water
  • 1 (15oz) can navy beans (I use Eden so I do not drain because it contains kombu seaweed instead of salt)
  • spices

    • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano, to taste
    • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme, to taste
    • 2 bay leaves
    • 1 tsp. dried sage, to taste
    • salt & pepper, to taste

bread crumbs

  • 1-2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. dried sage, to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh bread crumbs (day-old bread cut into cubes)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  1. Heat oil in a soup pot over medium heat, add onions and a pinch of salt. Next add garlic, squash, and carrots, cook until vegetables start to caramelize, about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add cauliflower, parsley, carrot greens (if using), 5 cups water (6 cups if you drained your beans), better than bouillon vegetable base, beans (with their liquid, if made with seaweed), and spices. Bring to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer, cover and simmer until vegetables are tender, about 15-20 minutes. Check spices and adjust if needed.
  2. In a skillet, heat 1 Tbsp oil over medium heat. Add dried sage to pool of oil, then add bread cubes and toss to distribute oil evenly. Cook bread slowly to crisp and golden about 10 minutes, tossing occasionally, add more oil as needed. Add the garlic during the last few minutes to avoid burning it. Season with salt and pepper, check spices and adjust.
  3. Serve bread crumbs over the soup, enjoy!

I also served the soup with home-made Quinoa Bread from Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day (p.132), because I love bread…

In other news…

I finally reinstalled my system, which went surprisingly well, after I felt confident that I had all my data backed up… I have nearly all my data back in a usable place which is nice. Reminds me of moving into a new home, you stress out packing up everything, then you have the joy of taking everything back out of the boxes when you get to the new place… I took some downtime over the weekend to step away from the computer, it was just causing too much stress. So I spent some quality time with my family, I’m feeling much better now.

I really need to update my recipe page, and I have some pictures I took of the trail last week I’d like to post… I purchased some new kitchen gadgets that I want to post about as well… tomorrow is Produce Wednesday… and I’m thinking about making some minestrone in just a few minutes… I have much to post about… now to just find the time to get it all done. 😉 Until next time…
~nic

4 thoughts on “Navy Bean and Winter Squash Soup with Sage Bread Crumbs…

  1. the soup looks great, the quinoa bread, wow…that looks lovely as well!

    getting everything in one place and that uber productive feeling that comes with it…love it!

    Thanks for your comments the past few posts and glad that you can see a place for yoga in your life. And that things i said resonated with you. Excellent 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Soup That Wasn’t… « The Auspicious Squirrel

  3. Pingback: Getting Back On That Horse… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

