Kale & Cauliflower Soup, Plus Some Other Stuff…

You may recall that cauliflower and I have a bit of history together… we were once not-really-on-speaking-terms acquaintances… but lately, cauliflower has been slowly becoming my friend

I was in the mood for soup last night… my search term was cauliflower, the first book I turned to was my newish copy (I’ve only made one other recipe from it so far) of Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen… I found the recipe for Garden Soup with Black Kale and Cauliflower (p.33)…

I didn’t have the exact ingredients, but mine were very close… leeks–>onion, russet potato–>fingerling potatoes, black kale–>kale, broth–>better than bouillon vegetable base, asiago–>omitted… It turned out awesome. This is a broth-y soup that allows the vegetables to do the talking, as in, veggies, broth, salt & pepper, nice. Cauliflower, you are becoming a close friend. πŸ˜‰

Kale and Cauliflower Soup
slightly adapted from Vegetable Soups from Deborah Madison’s Kitchen

Rating: Awesome

Serves: 4

    1 Tbsp. olive oil
    1 onion, diced
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    1/2 lb. fingerling potatoes, sliced (about 2 handfuls)
    2 cups kale, stems removed, cut into short ribbons
    1/2 head cauliflower, cut into small florets
    6 cups water
    1 Tbsp. better than bouillon vegetable base, to taste
    salt & pepper
  1. Dice onion. Heat the olive oil in a soup pot over med-high heat. Add onion and a pinch of salt. Mince garlic, then add to onion. Lower heat. Scrub and slice the fingerling potatoes, leaving the skin on, add to onions. Clean and remove stems from kale. Slice into short ribbons, add to potatoes and onions. Clean and cut cauliflower, cut off stems and break apart the florets into small bite size pieces, add to soup pot.
  2. Add water, raise heat, cover, bring to a boil. Add better than bouillon, salt & pepper. Reduce heat, simmer covered until vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes.
  3. Check spices, add more veg base, salt and pepper as needed. Ladle into bowls. Enjoy

I served this with some homemade pumpernickel bread…

I forgot to mention yesterday, that I saw 3-4 squirrels, not sure if one of those squirrels was the same guy… very quick little guys! I was still unable to take a picture, my cell phone takes too long to load up the camera function, I am sooo going to bring my other camera next time! πŸ˜‰

I made a small change to my favorite smoothie this morning with great success. You may recall that my ‘green smoothies’ have been fruit, fruit juice, and greens… otherwise, my smoothies are only ‘green’ because I add amazing grass powder to them… but I’ve been checking out this other site, green monster movement, and decided to add some kale to my chocolate banana-berry smoothie. I didn’t even taste the difference, you really can ‘hide’ the greens!

And before I go, ‘little-bit’ asked that I tell you about his new food challenge… Health Smart Dog Treats, Pumpkin & Carrot Recipe… these are made with quinoa! The smell reminds me of one of my soups, puppy loves them!

~nic

5 thoughts on “Kale & Cauliflower Soup, Plus Some Other Stuff…

    • Mihl – The bread recipe came from Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day, it’s awesome! I know you like to make bread, this bread requires no kneading! πŸ™‚

      The soup was very comforting, and warm… just what you need in the winter. πŸ˜‰

    • Averie – The soup kinda fits in your requirements for a recipe, not many ingredients, not many dishes, but it will probably take just a bit longer to cook and clean-up than 30 minutes… but I think you might like it anyway… on the days you feel like having something warm. πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for wishing me strength… it’s a constant battle I have internally, yoga has helped more than I ever thought possible, I’m am stronger now and can at least see the anxiety building up and ‘label’ it… there is power in knowing yourself. Baby steps, I’ll get ‘out there’ eventually, but I’m finally taking the steps to put me back on the journey. πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Navy Bean and Winter Squash Soup with Sage Bread Crumbs… « The Auspicious Squirrel

Leave a Reply

